ATLANTIC COMPACT COMMISSION

1201 Main Street, Suite 1460 Columbia, SC 29201 803-737-1879 www.atlanticcompact.org

History of LLRW Management in the Atlantic Compact (formerly the Northeast Compact)

- 1980 Congress passed "Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy Act
- 1985 Northeast Compact ratified by Congress
- 1995 SC Legislation re-opens the Barnwell facility
- 1999 SC Nuclear Waste Task Force Recommends South Carolina join the Northeast Compact
- April 2000 South Carolina Governor petitions the Northeast Compact for membership

History of LLRW Management in the Atlantic Compact (formerly the Northeast Compact)

- June 2000 Northeast Compact approves SC's petition
- July 1, 2000 Atlantic Compact Commission has 3 member states: South Carolina, Connecticut and New Jersey

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Membership

Appalachian Compact: Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania *, West Virginia

Atlantic Compact: Connecticut, New Jersey, South Carolina *

Central Compact: Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska *, Oklahoma

Central Midwest Compact: Illinois *, Kentucky

Northwest Compact: Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington *, Wyoming

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Membership Midwest Compact: Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin Rocky Mountain Compact: Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico Northwest accepts Rocky Mountain wastes as agreed between compacts.

Southeast Compact: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia

Southwestern Compact: Arizona, California *, North Dakota, South Dakota

Texas Compact: Maine, Texas *, Vermont

Atlantic Compact Implementation Act 160,000 cu ft FY 2001 FY 2002 80,000 cu ft FY 2003 70,000 cu ft FY 2004 60,000 cu ft FY 2005 50,000 cu ft FY 2006 45,000 cu ft 40,000 cu ft FY 2007 FY 2008 35,000 cu ft

After July 1, 2008, the importation of non-regional waste is prohibited.

Present Commissioners

Elizabeth B. Partlow

Kevin T. A. McCarthy

Jill Lipoti, Ph.D.

Thomas W. Weeks, Esq.

Chair, South Carolina

Commissioner for Connecticut Commissioner for New Jersey Commissioner for South Carolina

Atlantic Implementation Act

- For 8 years after July 1, 2000, non-regional waste will be allowed at Barnwell.
- After July 1, 2008, the importation of non-regional waste is prohibited.
- Completed 3 years of Regional Low Volume Operations at end of June 30, 2011.
- \square 1st Year about 11,000 cu ft

2nd Year – about 34,000 cu ft (including 4 steam generators LLRW from NJ)

■ 3rd Year - about 10,000 cu ft

Currently 7 operating reactors in SC; 4 in NJ; and 2 in CT

Annual operating Costs for Barnwell paid by utilities operating the 13 reactors in the region.

- Host State commitment - will accept 800,000 cu ft of Low-Level Waste from CT and NJ generators
- Less than 75,000 cu ft utilized so far from NJ and CT generators.
- The limited remaining capacity at Barnwell will be utilized by mainly 13 nuclear plans in the region plus any new nuclear power plants that will be operational in the future.
- Revenue neutral operation. MOU between SC
 B&C Board and Chem-Nuclear in place since 2009.

The partnership is working well.

Attempts to change the Atlantic Implementation Act in the past to allow nonregional low-level waste have been unsuccessful.

Duke Energy and SCANA are proposing up to 4 new reactors.

THANK YOU.

MAX BATAVIA, P.E., EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR