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19-700 DEFINITIONS 
 
The following definitions should be used in conjunction with these Regulations. 
 
ACADEMIC PERSONNEL – presidents, provosts, vice-presidents, deans, teaching and research 
staffs, and others of academic rank employed by the State educational institutions of higher 
learning or medical institutions of education and research as defined in Section 59-107-10 of the 
South Carolina Code of Laws. 
 
AGENCY – a department, institution of higher learning, board, commission, or school that is a 
governmental unit of the State of South Carolina.  Special purpose districts, political subdivisions, 
and other units of local government are excluded from this definition. 
 
AGENCY HEAD – the person who has authority and responsibility for an agency. 
 
AGENCY HIRE DATE – the date an employee begins employment with an agency without any 
adjustments. 
 
APPEAL – the request by a covered employee to the State Human Resources Director for review 
of an agency’s final decision concerning a grievance. 
 
APPOINTING AUTHORITY – the agency head or other person or group of persons empowered 
to employ. 
 
BASE PAY – the rate of pay approved for an employee in his position exclusive of any additional 
pay, such as supplements, bonuses, longevity pay, temporary salary adjustments, shift differential 
pay, on-call pay, call back pay, special assignment pay, or market or geographic differential pay. 
 
BASE PERIOD – the period of time that defines the regular annual schedule of employment (e.g., 
either a semester, an academic year, or ten months to 12 months).  
 
BREAK IN SERVICE – An employee experiences a break in State service when the employee 
either (1) separates from State employment; (2) moves from one State agency to another and is not 
employed by the receiving agency within 15 calendar days following the last day worked (or 
approved day of leave at the transferring agency); (3) remains on leave for a period of more than 
12 months; (4) separates from State service as a result of a reduction in force and is not recalled to 
the original position or reinstated with State government within 12 months of the effective date of 
the separation; or (5) moves from a full-time equivalent (FTE) position to a temporary, temporary 
grant, or time-limited position. 
 
CALENDAR DAYS – the sequential days of a year.  For purposes of calculating time frames 
under the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act, the time must be computed by excluding the  
first day and including the last.  If the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, it must be 
excluded. 
 
CALENDAR YEAR – the period of time between January 1st and December 31st in any given 
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year.  
 
CLASS – a group of positions sufficiently similar in the duties performed; degree of supervision 
exercised or received; minimum requirements of education or experience; and the knowledge, 
skills, and abilities required that the Division of State Human Resources applies the same State 
class title and the same State salary range to each position in the group. 
 
CLASS/UNCLASSIFIED STATE TITLE CODE – the alphanumeric identification assigned to 
a particular class or unclassified State title. 
 
CLASSIFIED POSITION – an FTE position that has been assigned to a class. 
 
CLASSIFICATION PLAN – the classification plan as authorized by Section8-11-230 which 
includes the non-Higher Education classification plan and the Higher Education classification plan 
authorized by the Higher Education Efficiency and Administrative Policies Act of 2011. 
 
CLASSIFIED SERVICE – all of those positions in State service which are subject to the 
classification plan. 
 
CLASS SERIES – a group of classes which are sufficiently similar in kind of work performed to 
warrant similar class titles, but sufficiently different in level of responsibilities to warrant different 
pay bands. 
 
CLASS SPECIFICATION – the official description approved by the Division of State Human 
Resources providing examples of the kind of work and level of responsibility normally assigned 
to positions that may be allocated to the class. 
 
CLASS TITLE – the name assigned to a class by the Division of State Human Resources. 
 
CLASS/UNCLASSIFIED STATE TITLE DATE – the date an employee enters his current class 
or unclassified State title. 
 
COMPENSATION – monetary payment for services rendered. 
 
CONFLICT OF INTEREST – any action or situation in which an individual's personal or 
financial interest or that of a member of his household might conflict with the public interest. 
 
CONTINUOUS STATE SERVICE – service in a Full Time Equivalent position with one or 
more State agencies without a break in service. 
 
CONTINUOUS STATE SERVICE DATE – the date that reflects the first date of State 
employment in a Full Time Equivalent position without a break in service. 
 
COVERED EMPLOYEE – a full-time or part-time employee occupying a part or all of an FTE 
position who has completed the probationary period and has a “meets” or higher overall rating on 
the employee’s performance evaluation and who has grievance rights.  Instructional personnel are 
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covered upon the completion of one academic year except for faculty at State technical colleges 
upon the completion of not more than two full academic years’ duration.  If an employee does not 
receive an evaluation before the performance review date, the employee must be considered to 
have performed in a satisfactory manner and be a covered employee.  This definition does not 
include employees in positions such as temporary, temporary grant, or time-limited employees 
who do not have grievance rights. 
 
DEMOTION – the assignment of an employee by the appointing authority from one established 
position to a different established position having a lower State salary range or, for employees in 
positions without a State salary range, assignment of a lower rate of pay to the employee except 
when the employee’s job duties also are decreased for nonpunitive reasons. 
 
DIVISION OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES (DSHR) – the central State human resources 
entity under the Department of Administration. 
 
DUAL EMPLOYMENT – an agreement by which an employee within an FTE position with an 
employing agency accepts temporary, part-time employment with the same or another agency 
which constitutes independent, additional duties distinct from the employee’s primary duties. 
 
EMPLOYEE – any person in the service of an agency who receives compensation from the 
agency and where the agency has the right to control and direct the employee in how the work is 
performed.  
 
EMPLOYING AGENCY – the agency having primary control over the services of the employee. 
 
EXEMPT EMPLOYEE – an employee who is exempt from both the minimum wage and 
overtime requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act due to employment in a bona fide 
executive, administrative, professional, or outside sales capacity. 
 
FISCAL YEAR – the period of time between July 1st and June 30th of any given year. 
 
FULL-TIME EQUIVALENT or FTE – a numerical value expressing a percentage of time in 
hours and of funds related to a particular position authorized by the General Assembly. 
 
GRIEVANCE – a complaint filed by a covered employee or the employee’s representative 
regarding an adverse employment action taken by an agency designated in Section 8-17-330 of the 
South Carolina Code of Laws. 
 
HOLIDAY – any holiday recognized by State law or enumerated in Section 53-510 of the South 
Carolina Code of Laws. 
 
HOLIDAY COMPENSATORY TIME – leave time earned by an employee for work performed 
on a holiday. 
 
IN-BAND INCREASE – a salary increase which is awarded within the pay band assigned to the 
employee's class. 
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INITIAL EMPLOYMENT – the employment of a person newly hired into State government in 
a classified or unclassified FTE position. 
 
INSTRUCTIONAL PERSONNEL – for purposes of the State Employee Grievance Procedure 
Act, employees of an agency that has primarily an educational mission, excluding the State 
technical colleges and excluding those employees exempted in Section 8-17-370 10 of the South 
Carolina Code of Laws, who work an academic year. 
 
INVOLUNTARY REASSIGNMENT – the movement of an employee’s principal place of 
employment in excess of 30 miles from the prior workstation at the initiative of the agency.  The 
reassignment of an employee by an agency in excess of 30 miles from the prior workstation to the 
nearest facility with an available position having the same State salary range for which the 
employee is qualified is not considered involuntary reassignment. 
 
LEAVE ACCRUAL DATE – the date used to calculate an employee’s rate of annual leave 
earnings, which includes: (1) all State service in an FTE position, including part-time service, 
adjusted to reflect periods where there was a break in service; and, (2) all service as a certified 
employee in a permanent position of a school district of this State.  
 
LEAVE DONOR – an employee of an employing agency whose voluntary written request for 
donation of sick or annual leave to the pool leave account of his employing agency is granted. 
 
LEAVE RECIPIENT – an employee of an employing agency who has a medical emergency and 
is selected and approved to receive sick or annual leave from the pool leave account of his 
employing agency. 
 
LEGISLATIVE INCREASE – General and Merit Increases provided to employees in 
accordance with the provisions of the Annual Appropriations Act.   
 
MEDIATION – an alternative dispute resolution process whereby a mediator who is an impartial 
third-party acts to encourage and facilitate the resolution of a dispute without prescribing what it 
should be.  The process is informal and non-adversarial with the objective of helping the disputing 
parties reach a mutually acceptable agreement. 
 
MEDIATION-ARBITRATION – an alternative dispute resolution process that provides for the 
submission of an appeal to a mediator-arbitrator, an impartial third party who conducts conferences 
to attempt to resolve the grievance by mediation and render a decision that is final and binding on 
the parties if the appeal is not mediated. 
 
NONEXEMPT EMPLOYEE – an employee who is covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act 
and who is, therefore, subject to both the minimum wage and overtime requirements of the law. 
 
PAY BAND – for classified positions, the dollar amount between the minimum and maximum 
rates of pay to which a class is assigned by DSHR. 
 



State Human Resources Regulations 

5 
 

PERFORMANCE REVIEW DATE – the first day which marks the beginning of a new 
performance review period. 
 
PERMANENT STATUS – the status attained by an employee upon completion of a probationary 
or trial period in a class or an unclassified State title. 
 
PERSONNEL NUMBER (PERNR) – the employee identification number 
 
PERSONAL EMERGENCY – a catastrophic and debilitating medical situation, severely 
complicated disability, severe accident case, family medical emergency, or other hardship situation 
that is likely to require an employee's absence from duty for a prolonged period of time and to 
result in a substantial loss of income to the employee because of the unavailability of paid leave. 
 
POSITION – those duties and responsibilities constituting a single job. 
 
POSITION NUMBER – a unique number assigned to an FTE position by DSHR. 
 
PROBATIONARY STATUS – the status of an employee during the probationary period. 
 
PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEE – a full-time or part-time employee occupying a part or all of 
an FTE position in the initial working test period of employment with the State of 12 months’ 
duration for non-instructional personnel, of the academic year duration for instructional personnel 
except for those at State technical colleges, or of not more than 2 full academic years’ duration for 
faculty at State technical colleges.  An employee who receives an unsatisfactory performance 
evaluation during the probationary period must be terminated before becoming a covered 
employee. 
 
PROBATIONARY PERIOD – an initial working test period of employment in an FTE position 
with the State of not more than 12 months’ duration for non-instructional personnel or the 
academic year duration for instructional personnel except for those at State technical colleges, or 
of not more than 2 full academic years' duration for faculty at State technical colleges.  An 
employee who receives an unsatisfactory performance evaluation during the probationary period 
must be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
PROMOTION – the assignment of an employee by the appointing authority from one established 
position to a different established position having a higher State salary range or, for positions 
without a State salary range, having a higher rate of pay.  Failure to be selected for a promotion is 
not an adverse employment action that can be considered as a grievance or appeal. 
 
PUNITIVE RECLASSIFICATION – for classified employees, the assignment of a position in 
one class to a different class with a lower pay band with the sole purpose to penalize the covered 
employee. 
 
REALLOCATION – for classified positions, the assignment of all positions in a class from one 
pay band to another pay band. 
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REASSIGNMENT – the movement within an agency of an employee from one position to 
another position having the same State salary range, or the movement of a position within an 
agency which does not require reclassification. 
 
RECLASSIFICATION – for classified positions, the assignment of a position in one class to 
another class which is the result of a natural or an organizational change in duties or responsibilities 
of the position. 
 
REDUCTION IN FORCE – the procedure used by an agency to eliminate or reduce a portion of 
one or more filled FTE positions in one or more organizational units within the agency due to 
budgetary limitations, shortage of work, organizational changes or outsourcing/privatization. 
 
REEMPLOYMENT – the employment of a person following a break in service in an FTE 
position. 
 
REINSTATEMENT – the return of an employee to State service without a break in service.  
Examples include return resulting from: (1) the Reduction in Force procedure; (2) the reversal of 
a termination under the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act; (3) the settlement of a complaint 
negotiated under an authorized administrative agency; or, (4) the order of a court. 
 
REQUESTING AGENCY – for dual employment purposes, the agency engaging the services of 
and compensating any employee for services which are clearly not a part of the employee’s regular 
job. 
 
RESIGNATION – written or oral notification by an employee of his relinquishment of 
employment.  An employee who fails to report to work for three consecutive workdays and fails 
to contact the agency during this time period is considered to have voluntarily resigned. 
 
SEPARATION – action initiated by either the agency or employee which ends the employment 
relationship. 
 
SHIFT DIFFERENTIAL – the additional amount of pay awarded to employees who are assigned 
to an evening, night, weekend, rotating, or split-shift. 
 
STATE EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE – the committee composed of State 
employees who are appointed by the Director of the Department of Administration and who 
conduct hearings involving appeals filed by covered employees. 
 
STATE HIRE DATE – the first date of State employment in an FTE position adjusted to reflect 
periods when there were breaks in service. 
 
STATE HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR – the head of the Division of State Human 
Resources of the Department of Administration, or his designee who is responsible for statewide 
coordination of human resources programs. 
 
STATE SALARY RANGE – the dollar amount between the minimum and maximum rates of 
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pay as established by DSHR.  
 
STATE SERVICE – total employment defined in years, months, and days in which an employee 
has occupied an FTE position, including part-time service.  
 
SUPERVISOR – an individual who directs one or more subordinates and is designated as the 
rater on those subordinates' performance evaluations. 
 
SUPPLEMENT – any compensation, excluding travel reimbursement, from an affiliated public 
charity, foundation, clinical faculty practice plan, or other public source or any supplement from a 
private source to the salary appropriated for a State employee and fixed by the State. 
 
SUSPENSION – an enforced leave of absence without pay pending investigation of charges 
against an employee or for disciplinary purposes. 
 
TEACHERS – individuals employed in instructional positions for which certification is required. 
 
TEMPORARY EMPLOYEE – a full-time or part-time employee who does not occupy an FTE 
position, whose employment is not to exceed one year, and who is not a covered employee.   
 
TEMPORARY GRANT EMPLOYEE – a full-time or part-time employee who does not occupy 
an FTE position and is hired to fill a position specified in and funded by a federal grant, public 
charity grant, private foundation grant, or research grant and who is not a covered employee. 
 
TEMPORARY POSITION – a full-time or part-time non-FTE position created for a period of 
time not to exceed one year. 
 
TEMPORARY SALARY ADJUSTMENT – compensation not included in an employee’s base 
salary that is awarded for a limited period of time. 
 
TERMINATION – The action taken by an agency against an employee to involuntarily separate 
the employee from employment. 
 
TIME-LIMITED PROJECT EMPLOYEE – a full-time or part-time employee who does not 
occupy an FTE position who is hired to fill a position with time-limited project funding approved 
or authorized by the appropriate State authority, and who is not a covered employee. 
 
TRANSFER – the movement to a different agency of an employee from one position to another 
position having the same State salary range, or the movement of a position from one agency to 
another agency which does not require reclassification. 
 
TRIAL PERIOD – the initial working test period of six months required of a covered employee 
upon movement to any class or an unclassified State title in which the employee has not held 
permanent status. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version 
of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
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TRIAL STATUS – the status of a full-time or part-time covered employee who is in the initial 
working test period of six months following the movement of the employee or the employee’s 
position to any class or unclassified State title in which the employee has not held permanent status.  
Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
 
UNCLASSIFIED POSITION – an FTE position that has been assigned to an unclassified State 
title. 
 
UNCLASSIFIED SERVICE – all those positions in the State service which are not subject to the 
position classification plan. 
 
UNCLASSIFIED STATE TITLE – the name assigned to an unclassified position or to a group 
of similar positions by the DSHR. 
 
WORKDAY (AVERAGE) – the number of hours upon which leave and holidays are based.  To 
determine the number of hours in an average workday, divide the total number of hours an 
employee is regularly scheduled to work during a week by five (regardless of the number of days 
the employee actually reports to work). 
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19-701 GENERAL RULES 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE  
 
Human Resources Regulations Sections 19-700 through 19-721 are applicable to all agencies 
that are not specifically exempted by Section 8-11-260 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  
These regulations apply to FTE positions and employees who occupy FTE positions.  

 
19-701.01 EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY 
 

The State of South Carolina is an equal employment opportunity employer. 
 

19-701.02 CONSTRUCTION OF WORDS 
 

All words in these Regulations referencing the masculine gender shall apply to females as well. 
All words in these Regulations referencing "written," “in writing,” or similar language shall 
also apply to electronic documents. 

 
19-701.03 FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL LAWS 
 

These Regulations are in addition to the requirements of applicable federal, State, and local 
laws as applicable. 
 

19.701.04 DIVISION OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES’ DELEGATION AUTHORITY/ 
RESERVATION OF RIGHTS 
 

The Division of State Human Resources may delegate to agencies and higher education 
institutions the authority to implement specific compensation and classification actions.  This 
ability is outlined in a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) executed between DSHR and 
the agency or institution.  In addition to adhering to the terms of the MOU, the agencies and 
institutions with delegation authority shall comply with all State and Federal laws and all 
DSHR regulations, policies, and guidelines.  DSHR reserves the right to revoke and /or alter 
the agencies’ or institutions’ delegation authority. 

 
19-701.05 AUDITS BY THE DIVISION OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES (DSHR) 

 
All information and documentation required by these Regulations are subject to audit by 
DSHR. 

 
19-701.06 CENTRAL HUMAN RESOURCES DATA SYSTEM  
 

As required by Section 8-11-230 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, DSHR provides a central 
database to maintain human resources data on all employees.  To maintain the integrity and 
completeness of the system, all agencies are required to submit information in a timely manner.  
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19-701.07 ETHICS ACT 
 

The Ethics Act governs the employment of family members and conflicts of interest.  For 
additional information consult the Ethics Act (Section 8-13-100 through Section 8-13-1520 of 
the South Carolina Code of Laws), the Ethics Commission opinions, and the State Ethics 
Commission. 

 
19-701.08 EMPLOYMENT OUTSIDE OF STATE GOVERNMENT 
 

Agencies may adopt policies and procedures for the approval and regulation of jobs held by 
employees outside of State government.  Such policies shall be in accordance with law and the 
policies and procedures of the Department of Administration.  An agency may withdraw 
approval for such secondary employment in accordance with policies and procedures. 

 
19-701.09 SOLICITATION AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Solicitations and distributions by agency employees or outside individuals are generally 
prohibited on agency property during working hours. Each agency is responsible for enforcing 
this Regulation to minimize the disruption of agency business.  For example, agencies may 
allow for fund raising activities by charitable organizations which are certified by the Secretary 
of State.  Any fund-raising activities must be approved by the agency head or his designee and 
conducted under agency supervision. 

 
19-701.10 PILOT PROGRAMS TO CREATE INNOVATION IN STATE GOVERNMENT 
 

Notwithstanding other provisions of law, the Department of Administration is authorized to 
enter into pilot programs with individual agencies or groups of agencies in order to create 
innovations in State government.  The Department of Administration will monitor the findings 
and results of pilot programs to determine if legislative recommendations should be provided 
to the General Assembly. 

 
19-701.11 FTE POSITIONS 
 
 An employee may not occupy more than one FTE position. 
 
19-701.12 APPROVAL OF POLICIES 
 
 The Division of State Human Resources develops six model policies to assist agencies with 

their policy development.  The Division of State Human Resources must review and approve 
these six policies, and the agency must distribute to employees prior to the policies becoming 
effective.  The six model policies are: 

 
A. Hours of Work and Overtime policy, 

 
B. Employee Performance Management System policy, 
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C. Progressive Discipline policy, 

  
D. Grievance Procedure policy,  

  
E. Reduction in Force policy, and 
 
F. Telecommuting policy. 
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19-702 CLASSIFICATION PLAN 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation governs the establishment, maintenance, and administration of the 
Classification Plan as defined in 19-700 applicable to all FTE positions in the classified service. 

 
19-702.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Department of Administration designates the State Human Resources Director to 
administer all Department of Administration policies and procedures relating to the 
Classification Plan. 

 
B. The Division of State Human Resources shall establish the Classification Plan to consist 

of:  
 

1. all approved classes of positions,  
 

2. the assignment of each position to its proper class,  
 

3. the class specifications for all approved classes of positions, and 
 

4. the Regulations and procedures governing the administration of the Classification Plan. 
 
C. A class shall be established for each broad category of work and its level of difficulty and 

responsibility. 
 
D. Each class shall be defined by a class specification and shall be assigned to an appropriate 

pay band. 
 
E. The Division of State Human Resources will maintain a list of approved classes. 
 
F. No action shall be taken to fill any position until it has been authorized by the General 

Assembly and established in accordance with the Classification Plan.  When establishing 
a classified position, DSHR assigns a position number, class title, class code, and pay band. 

 
G. A position may move between the classified and unclassified systems provided the agency 

does not exceed its respective number of classified and unclassified authorized full-time 
equivalent (FTE) positions.  (Refer to Section 19-704.08.) 
 

H. The Division of State Human Resources is authorized to delegate to agencies by written 
agreement classification programs that are described in this Regulation.  Agencies with a 
delegation agreement shall comply with all State and federal laws and regulations, 
Department of Administration policies and guidelines, and the provisions contained in the 
delegation agreement.  The delegation agreement shall constitute a contractual relationship 
between DSHR and the requesting agency and may be terminated or altered at the 
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discretion of DSHR. 
 

I. The State Human Resources Director shall have the authority to make exceptions to these 
Regulations consistent with federal, State and local laws. 

 
19-702.02 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PLAN 
  

A. The State Human Resources Director shall administer the Classification Plan. 
 

B. Before an agency fills or alters a position, DSHR must approve the following actions: 
 
1. The initial classification of the position; 

 
2. The reclassification of the position; or 

 
3. The creation of new classes and the revision or abolishment of existing classes. 

 
C. The Division of State Human Resources shall coordinate periodic studies to ensure that the 

Classification Plan is current and uniform. 
 
D. As requested, agencies must submit to DSHR all current position descriptions, 

organizational charts, and other information as needed to administer the classification plan. 
 

19-702.03 CLASS SPECIFICATIONS 
 

A. Each class specification shall describe in general terms examples of the kind of work and 
level of responsibility normally assigned to positions that may be allocated to the class.  
The exact duties and responsibilities of positions allocated to any one class may differ; 
however, all positions allocated to a class shall be sufficiently similar as to kind of work, 
level of difficulty or responsibility, and qualification requirements. 

 
B. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop class specifications which include 

the following: 
 

1. Class Title and Code 
 

2. General Nature of Work - the brief statement summarizing the work to be performed 
by individuals in this class. 
 

3. Guidelines for Class Use/Distinguishing Characteristics - the brief statement 
summarizing the level of work performed, the breadth of job responsibilities, and level 
of supervision given or received.  This section may be omitted if it is not needed for 
further clarification. 
 

4. Examples of Work - statements of duties that reflect responsibility common to positions 
in the class, but not necessarily fully descriptive of any one position in the class. 
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5. Knowledge, Skills and Abilities - a list of individual characteristics each of which is 

required for the successful performance of one or more job duties of the class, but not 
necessarily fully descriptive of the requirements for any one position in the class. 
 

6. Necessary Special Requirements - statements of professional or physical requirements, 
such as licensure or certification, which may be mandatory for some or all positions in 
the class.  This section may be omitted if it is not needed for further clarification. 
 

7. Minimum Requirements - a statement of the minimum combination of education and 
experience required for the satisfactory performance of the duties of positions in the 
class, but not necessarily fully descriptive of the education and experience required for 
any one position in the class.  For an equivalency to substitute for the minimum 
requirements, an agency must submit a written request to the State Human Resources 
Director for approval. 

 
C. Current class specifications shall be maintained by DSHR.  The Division of State Human 

Resources will notify agencies of any revisions and additions to the class specifications. 
 
19-702.04 POSITION DESCRIPTIONS 
 

A. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop a position description to be used by 
agencies in describing assigned duties and other information necessary to determine the 
proper classification of each position.  An agency may develop a position description which 
must be approved by DSHR prior to implementation. 

 
B. The position description shall serve as a record of the duties assigned to an individual 

position in a class.  The position description is used to compare positions to ensure 
uniformity of classification and as a basis for other human resources decisions. 

 
C. The position description shall include an accurate description of assigned duties and 

responsibilities and other pertinent information concerning a position.  In contrast to 
general definitions of the level of work and responsibilities, the position description shall 
include specific duties and responsibilities assigned to a position, the percentage of time 
normally devoted to each duty, and the designation of essential and marginal functions. 
 

D. Position descriptions should be updated to reflect any changes in the assigned job duties 
and responsibilities or any other pertinent information concerning the position.  The 
supervisor should discuss this updated position description with the employee.  
 

E. Agencies shall submit current position descriptions to DSHR.  Current position 
descriptions shall be maintained by both the agency and DSHR. 
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19-702.05 RECLASSIFICATION OF POSITIONS 
 

A. An established position may be reclassified from one class to a different class as a result 
of a natural or an organizational change in the duties or responsibilities of the position.  

 
B. When reclassifying a filled position, the assignment of new duties or responsibilities should 

not have the effect of creating a new position.   
 
C. The Division of State Human Resources shall approve all reclassifications. 

 
19-702.06 POSITION NUMBERING SYSTEM 
 

The Division of State Human Resources shall develop and maintain a position numbering 
system that will identify each established position.   
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19-703 JOB VACANCY ANNOUNCEMENTS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the announcement of vacancies for all FTE positions in the classified 
service. 

 
19-703.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Department of Administration designates DSHR to administer all policies and 
procedures relating to the South Carolina Code of Laws, Section 8-11-120, Report of Job 
Vacancies. 

 
B. Applicants selected for hiring must meet the minimum requirements of the class as 

established by DSHR unless the State Human Resources Director or designee has approved 
an equivalency. 

 
19-703.02 REPORT OF JOB VACANCIES 
 

A. In addition to any other requirement provided by law, when a job vacancy occurs in any 
state office, agency, department, or other division of the executive branch of state 
government, the appointing authority must post a notice with the DSHR of the Department 
of Administration and the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce for 
at least five working days before employing a person to fill the vacancy.  The posting must 
give notice of the job vacancy, describe the duties to be performed by a person employed 
in that position, and include any other information required by law. 

 
B. The notification of a vacancy must include the following data:   
 

1. The title of the position and a summary description of the job responsibilities for 
the vacant position if needed for clarification; 

 
2. The entry salary or State salary range for the vacant position; 

 
3. The name of the agency where the vacant position exists; 

 
4. A description of the application process for the vacant position; 

 
5. Residency requirements, if any, for the vacant position; 

 
6. The class code and the position number of the vacant position; 

 
7. The minimum requirements for the vacant position, as well as preferred 

qualifications, if any: 
 

a. For the purpose of reporting a job vacancy, minimum requirements are the 
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minimum training and experience requirements that are established by the 
agency for the vacant position.  An agency’s minimum training and experience 
requirements shall be either the minimum requirements that DSHR has 
established for the class or additional requirements established by the agency 
that are directly related to the successful performance of essential job 
responsibilities as described on the position description.  Any additional 
requirements must exceed the minimum requirements that DSHR has 
established for the class. 

 
b. Preferred qualifications are defined as any other qualifications that are 

desirable, but not mandatory, for the performance of essential job 
responsibilities upon entry into the position; 

 
8. The opening and closing dates for applying for the vacant position; 

 
9. A statement certifying that the employing agency is an equal employment 

opportunity/affirmative action employing agency; and 
 

10. The normal work schedule and whether the position is full-time or part-time. 
 
19-703.03 INTERNAL POSTING AND DISTRIBUTION OF ANNOUNCEMENTS 
 

The agency must notify employees where the vacancy exists. If the vacancy is a promotional 
opportunity that requires work experience within the agency to qualify for the promotion, 
notice of the vacancy must be posted for five workdays, and the notice does not have to be sent 
to the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce or to DSHR. 
 

19-703.04 EXEMPTIONS TO POSTING JOB ANNOUNCEMENTS 
 

A. If an emergency situation exists requiring the vacancy to be filled immediately, 
certification of the emergency must be made to and approved by the agency head or his 
designee waiving the posting requirement at the agency and State level. 

 
B. When an agency promotes an employee one organizational level above the employee’s 

current level, the posting requirement may be waived. 
 

C. When an agency reassigns an employee from one position to another position in the same 
band, the posting requirement may be waived. 
 

D. When an agency demotes an employee, the posting requirement may be waived. 
 

19-703.05 FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT REQUESTS 
 

Upon request, a public body must provide materials, regardless of the form, pertaining to at 
least the three final applicants for consideration of each position.  Finalist refers to the last 
group of applicants, with at least three members, from which the final selection is made.  A 
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public body should not disclose the tax returns, medical records, social security numbers or 
any other materials exempt from disclosure under the SC Code of Laws Section 30-4-40 of 
the final pool of applicants, comprising at least three applicants.  Upon request, a public body 
must disclose the number of applicants considered for that position.  
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19-704 MOVEMENT AND STATUS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
  

This Regulation governs the movement of classified and unclassified employees in FTE 
positions.  This Regulation also governs the status of classified and unclassified employees in 
FTE positions except those employees exempt from coverage under the State Employee 
Grievance Procedure Act. 

 
19-704.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 

 
A. Movement of a person into or between full-time equivalent (FTE) positions may occur by: 

 
1. Initial Employment or Reemployment 

 
2. Promotion 

 
3. Demotion 

 
4. Reassignment 

 
5. Transfer 

 
(Refer to Sections 19-704.02 through 19-704.05.) 

 
B. Movement of a position may occur through a reclassification in the classified system or an 

unclassified State title change in the unclassified system. (Refer to Sections 19-704.06 and 
19-704.07.) 

 
C. A position may move between the classified and unclassified systems provided the agency 

does not exceed its number of classified and unclassified authorized FTEs.  (Refer to 
Section 19-704.08.) 

 
D. A person who moves into or between an FTE position(s) in the classified system must meet 

minimum requirements established in the class specification. For an equivalency to 
substitute for the minimum requirements, an agency must submit a written request to the 
State Human Resources Director for approval. 

 
E. When a person moves into or between an FTE position(s) or when an employee’s position 

is reclassified or has an unclassified State title change, the following types of status apply: 
 

1. Probationary – The status of a full-time or part-time employee occupying all or part of 
an FTE position in the initial working test period of employment with the State of:  

 
a. Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
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b. The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 

c. Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 
colleges. 

 
2. Covered – The status of a full-time or part-time employee occupying all or part of an 

FTE position who has completed the probationary period and has a “meets” or higher 
overall rating on the employee’s performance evaluation and has grievance rights.  If 
an employee does not receive an evaluation before the performance review date, the 
employee must be considered to have performed in a satisfactory manner and be a 
covered employee. 
 

3. Trial – The status of a full-time or part-time covered employee who is in the initial 
working test period of six months following the movement of the employee or the 
employee’s position to any class or unclassified State title in which the employee has 
not held permanent status. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at 
the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will 
not serve a trial period. 

 
F. Permanent Status in a Class or Unclassified State Title 
 

An employee shall attain permanent status in a class or unclassified State title upon 
completion of a probationary or trial period in that class or unclassified State title.  Once 
attained, permanent status in a class or unclassified State title is retained throughout the 
employee’s continuous State service. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial 
period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee 
will not serve a trial period. 

 
G. Performance Review Dates 

 
For the establishment of an employee’s performance review date, refer to Sections 19-
715.02 through 19-715.04. 

 
19-704.02 INITIAL EMPLOYMENT OR REEMPLOYMENT 
 

A. Initial employment is defined as the employment of a person newly hired into State 
government in a classified or unclassified FTE position to include movement from a 
temporary, time limited, or temporary grant position to an FTE position. 

 
B. Reemployment is defined as the employment of a person following a break in service in a 

classified or unclassified FTE position. 
 

C. Probationary Status 
 

Upon initial employment or reemployment the employee shall be in probationary status. 
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D. Probationary Period 
 

1. An employee in probationary status must complete a probationary period of:  
 

a. Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel;  
 

b. The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or 
 

c. Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 
colleges.   

 
2. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 

continuous satisfactory service in any temporary capacity toward the employee’s 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the employee’s 
performance review period. 

 
3. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must be 

terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
19-704.03 PROMOTION 
 

A. Promotion is defined as the assignment of an employee by the appointing authority from 
one established position to a different established position:  

 
1.  Having a higher State salary range; or  
 
2.  For positions without a State salary range, having a higher rate of pay.   

 
B. Probationary or Trial Status  

 
Upon promotion, an employee shall be in probationary or trial status; however, if a covered 
employee previously held permanent status in the class or unclassified State title to which 
promoted, the promotion shall be with permanent status in the class or unclassified State 
title and the employee is not in trial status.  Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial 
period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee 
will not serve a trial period. 

 
C. Probationary Period 

 
1. An employee in probationary status who is promoted must complete a probationary 

period of:  
 

a. Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
 
b. The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  

 



State Human Resources Regulations 

22 
 

c. Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 
colleges.   

 
2. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 

continuous satisfactory service in the previous class or unclassified State title toward 
the employee’s probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of 
the employee’s performance review period.   

 
3. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must be 

terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 

D. Trial Period  
 
A covered employee who is promoted to a position in which he has not held permanent 
status in the class or unclassified State title must complete a six-month trial period.  
Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the 
Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. This 
period may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the employee 
of the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period.  

 
19-704.04 DEMOTION 
 

A. Demotion is defined as the assignment of an employee by the appointing authority from 
one established position to a different established position: 

 
1. Having a lower State salary range; or 

 
2. For employees in positions without a State salary range, assignment of a lower rate of 

pay to the employee except when the employee’s job duties also are decreased for 
nonpunitive reasons.  

 
B. Probationary or Trial Status  

 
Upon demotion, an employee will be in probationary or trial status; however, if a covered 
employee previously held permanent status in the class or unclassified State title to which 
demoted, the demotion shall be with permanent status in the class or unclassified State 
title and the employee is not in probationary or trial status. Exception: If the employee is 
not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the 
covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
C. Probationary Period 

 
1. An employee in probationary status who is demoted must complete a probationary 

period of:  
 

a. Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
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b. The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or 

 
c. Not more than two full academic years' duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.   
 

2. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous class or unclassified State title toward 
the employee’s probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of 
the employee’s performance review period.   

 
3. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must be 

terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 

D. Trial Period 
 

A covered employee who is demoted to a position in which he has not held permanent 
status in the class or unclassified State title must complete a six-month trial period. This 
period may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the employee 
of the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period.  Exception: If the employee 
is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, 
the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
19-704.05 REASSIGNMENT AND TRANSFER 
 

A. Reassignment is defined as the movement within an agency of an employee from one 
position to another position having the same State salary range, or the movement of a 
position within an agency which does not require reclassification. 
 

B. Transfer is defined as the movement to a different agency of an employee from one position 
to another position having the same State salary range, or the movement of a position from 
one agency to another agency which does not require reclassification. 

 
C.  Probationary or Trial Status 

 
Upon reassignment or transfer, an employee shall be in probationary or trial status; 
however, a covered employee with permanent status in the class or unclassified State title 
is not in probationary or trial status when the reassignment or transfer:   

 
1. Does not change the employee’s class or unclassified State title; or  

 
2. Is to a class or unclassified State title in which the employee already holds permanent 

status in the class or unclassified State title. 
 

Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the 
Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
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D. Probationary Period 
 

1. An employee in probationary status who is reassigned or transferred must complete a 
probationary period of:  
 
a. Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel;  
 
b. The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
c. Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.   
 

2. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous class or unclassified State title toward 
the employee’s probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of 
the employee’s performance review period.  If the reassignment or transfer is not to a 
new class or unclassified State title, the employee’s probationary period shall not 
change.   

 
3. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must be 

terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 

E. Trial Period   
 
A covered employee who is reassigned or transferred to a position in which he has not held 
permanent status in the class or unclassified State title must complete a six-month trial 
period.  This period may be extended by the agency head up to 90 calendar days upon 
written notification to the employee of the extension prior to the end of the six- month trial 
period. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of 
the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
19-704.06 RECLASSIFICATION 
 

For classified positions, reclassification is defined as the assignment of a position in one class 
to another class which is the result of a natural or an organizational change in duties or 
responsibilities of the position.  Reclassifications can occur: 

 
A. Upward – The position moves from one class to another class having a higher State salary 

range.  
 

1. Probationary or Trial Status  
 
Upon upward reclassification, an employee shall be in probationary or trial status; 
however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the class to which 
reclassified, the upward reclassification shall be with permanent status in the class and 
the employee is not in trial status.  Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial 
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period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered 
employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
2. Probationary Period 

 
a. An employee in probationary status whose position is reclassified upward must 

complete a probationary period of:  
 
(1)  Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel;  
 
(2)  The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
(3)  Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.  
 

b. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous class toward the employee’s 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period  
 

A covered employee who is reclassified upward to a position in which he has not held 
permanent status in the class must complete a six-month trial period.  This period may 
be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the employee of the 
extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period. Exception: If the employee is 
not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, 
the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
B. Downward – The position moves from one class to another class having a lower State 

salary range.   
 

1. Probationary or Trial Status  
 
Upon downward reclassification, an employee will be in probationary or trial status; 
however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the class to which 
reclassified, the downward reclassification shall be with permanent status in the class 
and the employee is not in trial status. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial 
period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered 
employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
2. Probationary Period 
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a. An employee in probationary status whose position is reclassified downward must 
complete a probationary period of:  

 
(1) Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel;  
 
(2) The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
(3) Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.   
 

b. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous class toward the employee’s 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period   

 
A covered employee who is reclassified downward to a position in which he has not 
held permanent status in the class must complete a six-month trial period.  This period 
may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the employee of 
the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period. Exception: If the employee 
is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, 
the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
C. Lateral – The position moves from one class to another class having the same State salary 

range. 
 

1. Probationary or Trial Status 
 

Upon lateral reclassification, an employee shall be in probationary or trial status; 
however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the class to which 
reclassified, the lateral reclassification shall be with permanent status in the class and 
the employee is not in trial status. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial 
period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered 
employee will not serve a trial period. 

   
2. Probationary Period 

 
a. An employee in probationary status whose position is reclassified laterally must 

complete a probationary period of:  
 

(1) Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel;  
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(2) The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
(3) Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.   
 

b. At his discretion the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous class toward the employee’s 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period 
 

A covered employee who is reclassified laterally to a position in which he has not held 
permanent status in the class must complete a six-month trial period.  This period may 
be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the employee of the 
extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period.  Exception: If the employee is 
not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, 
the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
19-704.07 UNCLASSIFIED STATE TITLE CHANGES 
 

An unclassified State title change is defined as the assignment of a position in one unclassified 
State title to another unclassified State title which is the result of a natural or an organizational 
change in duties or responsibilities of the position.   An unclassified State title change can 
occur: 

 
A. Upward – The position moves from one unclassified State title to another unclassified State 

title having a higher State salary range or for a position without a State salary range, the 
position moves from one unclassified State title to another unclassified State title with 
higher level job duties or responsibilities as defined by the agency.  

 
1. Probationary or Trial Status 

 
Upon upward unclassified State title change, an employee shall be in probationary or 
trial status; however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the 
unclassified State title to which moved, the upward move shall be with permanent 
status in the unclassified State title and the employee is not in trial status.  Exception: 
If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
2. Probationary Period 
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a. An employee in probationary status whose position is moved upward must 
complete a probationary period of:  
 
(1) Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
 
(2) The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
(3) Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.  
 

b. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous unclassified State title toward the 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period 
 

A covered employee whose position is moved upward to an unclassified State title in 
which he has not held permanent status must complete a six-month trial period.  This 
period may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the 
employee of the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period. Exception: If 
the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
  

B. Downward – The position moves from one unclassified State title to another unclassified 
State title having a lower State salary range or for a position without a State salary range, 
the position moves from one unclassified State title to another unclassified State title with 
lower level job duties or responsibilities as defined by the agency. 

 
1. Probationary or Trial Status 

 
Upon downward unclassified State title change, an employee will be in probationary 
or trial status; however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the 
unclassified State title to which moved, the downward move shall be with permanent 
status in the unclassified State title and the employee is not in trial status. Exception: If 
the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
2. Probationary Period 

 
a. An employee in probationary status whose position is moved downward must 

complete a probationary period of:  
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(1) Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
 
(2) The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
 
(3) Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges.   
 

b. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 
continuous satisfactory service in the previous unclassified State title toward the 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period 
 

A covered employee whose position is moved downward to an unclassified State title 
in which he has not held permanent status must complete a six-month trial period.  This 
period may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the 
employee of the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period. Exception: If 
the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
    

C. Lateral – The position moves from one unclassified State title to another unclassified State 
title having the same State salary range or an equivalent level of job duties or 
responsibilities as defined by the agency. 

 
1. Probationary or Trial Status 

 
Upon lateral unclassified State title change, an employee shall be in probationary or 
trial status; however, if a covered employee previously held permanent status in the 
unclassified State title to which moved, the lateral move shall be with permanent status 
in the unclassified State title and the employee is not in trial status. Exception: If the 
employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
2. Probationary Period 

 
a. An employee in probationary status whose position is moved laterally must 

complete a probationary period of:  
 

(1) Twelve months’ duration for noninstructional personnel; 
 
(2) The academic year duration for instructional personnel (teachers); or  
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(3) Not more than two full academic years’ duration for faculty at State technical 
colleges. 

 
b. At his discretion, the agency head or his designee may count up to six months of 

continuous satisfactory service in the previous unclassified State title toward the 
probationary period which would result in a reduction in the length of the 
employee’s performance review period.   

 
c. An employee who performs unsatisfactorily during the probationary period must 

be terminated before becoming a covered employee. 
 
3. Trial Period 
 

A covered employee whose position is moved laterally to an unclassified State title in 
which he has not held permanent status must complete a six-month trial period.  This 
period may be extended up to 90 calendar days upon written notification to the 
employee of the extension prior to the end of the six-month trial period. Exception: If 
the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period.   

 
19-704.08 MOVEMENT BETWEEN CLASSIFIED SERVICE AND UNCLASSIFIED 
SERVICE 

 
A. Classified Service to Unclassified Service 
 

1. Movement of the Employee 
 

a. When an employee moves from a classified position to an unclassified position with 
a State salary range, the employee’s status will be governed by Regulations 19-
704.03 through 19-704.05 concerning the promotion, demotion, reassignment, or 
transfer of an unclassified employee. 

 
b. When an employee moves from a classified position to an unclassified position 

without a State salary range, the agency shall determine whether the new position 
has a higher, lower, or equivalent level of job duties or responsibilities than the 
former position.  Based on that determination, the movement will be a promotion, 
demotion, reassignment, or transfer, and the employee’s status will be governed by 
Sections 19-704.03 through 19-704.05. 

 
2. Movement of the Position 

 
a. When the position an employee occupies moves from the classified service to the 

unclassified service, the employee’s status will be governed by Regulation 19-
704.07 concerning the movement of unclassified positions.   
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b. When the position an employee occupies moves from classified service to become 
an unclassified position without a State salary range, the agency shall determine 
whether the new position has a higher, lower, or equivalent level of job duties or 
responsibilities than the former position. Based on that determination, the 
employee’s status will be governed by Section 19-704.07 concerning the movement 
of unclassified positions. 

 
B. Unclassified Service to Classified Service 

 
1. Movement of the Employee 
 

a. When an employee moves from an unclassified position with a State salary range 
to a classified position, the employee’s status will be governed by Sections 19-
704.03 through 19-704.05 concerning the promotion, demotion, reassignment, or 
transfer of classified employees. 

 
b. When an employee moves from an unclassified position without a State salary 

range to a classified position, the agency shall determine whether the new position 
has a higher, lower, or equivalent level of job duties or responsibilities than the 
former position. Based on that determination, the movement will be a promotion, 
demotion, reassignment, or transfer, and the employee’s status will be governed by 
Sections 19-704.03 through 19-704.05. 

 
2. Movement of the Position 
 

a. When the position an employee occupies moves from the unclassified service to 
the classified service, the employee’s status will be governed by Section 19-704.06 
concerning the reclassification of positions.   

 
b. When the position an employee occupies changes from an unclassified position 

without a State salary range to become a classified position, the agency shall 
determine whether the new position has a higher, lower, or equivalent level of job 
duties or responsibilities than the former position. Based on that determination, the 
employee’s status will be governed by Section 19-704.06 concerning the 
reclassification of positions. 
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19-705 CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION PLAN   
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation governs the establishment, maintenance, and administration of the 
Compensation Plan applicable to all FTE positions in the classified service. 
 

19-705.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Department of Administration designates the State Human Resources Director to 
administer all Department of Administration policies and procedures relating to the 
Compensation Plan. 

 
B. The Division of State Human Resources shall establish and maintain a Compensation Plan 

to consist of (1) the official classification listing, (2) the official pay bands, and (3) the 
Regulations and procedures governing the administration of the Compensation Plan. 

 
C. In an agency whose agency head is reviewed by the Agency Head Salary Commission, 

no employee may receive a salary in excess of 95% of the midpoint of the agency head’s 
salary range or the agency head’s actual salary, whichever is greater, except on approval 
of the State Human Resources Director.  Higher education technical colleges, colleges, 
and universities shall be exempt from this requirement. 
 

D. When an employee moves from an unclassified position to a classified position, the 
employee’s pay will be governed by the classified Compensation Plan. 

 
E. An agency requests for or implementation of an increase in salary shall be requested or 

implemented when sufficient funds are available.  The State Human Resources Director 
may require submission of appropriate documentation attesting to the availability of 
funding.  

 
F. The South Carolina Constitution prohibits an agency from granting extra compensation, 

fee, or allowance to any public officer, agent, servant, or contractor after services rendered, 
or contract made, nor authorize payment or part payment of any claim under any contract 
not authorized by law. 

 
G. An agency shall maintain documentation appropriate for the administration of this 

Regulation. 
 

H. Prior to implementation, agencies shall develop any written policies described in these 
Regulations to govern the administration of salary increases and decreases. 
 

I. The State Human Resources Director shall have the authority to make exceptions to Section 
19-705 consistent with federal, State and local laws. 
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19-705.02 ADMINISTRATION OF THE COMPENSATION PLAN 
 
A. The Division of State Human Resources periodically shall conduct studies for the purpose 

of making recommendations that will maintain a competitive Compensation Plan. 
 
B. An employee shall be paid within the pay bands in accordance with the provisions of this 

Regulation. 
 
C. An employee shall not be paid in excess of the maximum of the pay band for a class, unless 

such payment is authorized by this Regulation. 
 
D. Any pay action which requires approval from DSHR must receive such approval prior to 

an agency effecting the action. 
 
E. Prior to submission of a request to DSHR for approval, the agency human resources shall 

review all proposed pay changes to determine that they are in compliance with the 
provisions of this Regulation. 

 
19-705.03 HIRING SALARIES 
 

A. Hiring at the Minimum - An employee must be paid at least the minimum of the pay band 
for the class to which hired. 
 

B. Hiring Above the Minimum 
 

1. Exceptional Qualifications – If an individual is exceptionally qualified for the position, 
DSHR may authorize a salary for the individual at a rate above the minimum of the pay 
band for the class based on written justification submitted by the agency. 

 
2. Special Hire Rate – Based on written justification submitted by the agency, the Division 

of State Human Resources may approve a special hire rate when experience has shown 
that recruitment of qualified applicants for selected positions in a class has not been 
possible at the minimum of the pay band.  

 
19-705.04 SALARY INCREASES 
 

A. Agencies shall develop written policies to govern the administration of salary increases for 
employees. 

 
B. In-Band Salary Increase - Written justification for awarding an in-band salary increase 

shall be maintained by the employing agency.  An employee’s salary may be increased 
within his current pay band for the following reasons: 

 
1. Performance Increase – An agency may increase an employee’s salary based upon 

performance in accordance with Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  
Such increase shall be determined by the agency.  A performance increase shall not 
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place an employee’s salary above the maximum of the pay band. 
 
2. Additional Skills or Knowledge Increase - An in-band increase may be granted when 

an employee gains additional skills or knowledge directly related to the job.  An 
employee’s salary may be increased by up to 15% for the acquisition of additional skills 
or knowledge, provided such increase does not place the employee’s salary above the 
maximum of the pay band.  For an increase of more than 15%, the agency must submit 
written justification to DSHR for approval. 

 
3. Additional Job Duties or Responsibilities Increase - An in-band increase may be 

granted when an employee is assigned additional job duties or broader responsibilities, 
either within his current position or as a reassignment to another position in the same 
pay band in the employing agency.  An employee’s salary may be increased by up to 
15% for the recognition of the additional job duties or responsibilities, provided such 
increase does not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of the pay band.  
For an increase of more than 15%, the agency must submit written justification to 
DSHR for approval.   

 
4. Transfer Increase - An in-band increase may be granted when an employee accepts a 

position within another agency which is in the same pay band as his current position.  
An employee’s salary may be increased by up to 15% for the recognition of a transfer, 
provided such increase does not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of 
the pay band.  For an increase of more than 15%, the agency must submit written 
justification to DSHR for approval.  

 
5. Retention Increase - An in-band increase may be granted when an employee has a bona 

fide job offer from another employer, either within or outside of State government, and 
an agency wishes to retain the services of this employee in his current position.  An 
employee’s salary may be increased by up to 15% for the purpose of retention, provided 
such increase does not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of the pay 
band. For an increase of more than 15% for employees who have bona fide job offers, 
the agency must submit written justification to DSHR for approval.  An employee shall 
receive no more than one retention increase in a one-year period. 

 
C. Salary Increases Resulting from Upward Band Changes - An employee’s salary may be 

increased as a result of movement to a higher pay band for the following reasons: 
 

1. Promotional Increase 
 

a. Upon promotion, the employee must be paid at least the minimum of the pay band 
of the class to which promoted. 

 
b. Upon promotion, an employee’s salary may be increased by up to 15% of his salary 

prior to promotion, or to the midpoint of the new pay band, whichever is greater.  
For an increase of more than 15% and above the midpoint of the pay band, the 
agency must submit written justification to DSHR for approval.  Such increase shall 
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not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of the new pay band.   
 

2. Reclassification Increase 
 

a. When an employee’s position is reclassified to a class with a higher pay band, the 
employee’s salary shall be increased to at least the minimum of the pay band of the 
class to which reclassified. 

 
b. Upon reclassification, an employee’s salary may be increased by up to 15% of his 

salary prior to reclassification, or to the midpoint of the new pay band, whichever 
is greater.  For an increase of more than 15% and above the midpoint of the pay 
band, the agency must submit written justification to DSHR for approval.  Such 
increase shall not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of the new pay 
band. 

 
3. Reallocation Increase - When DSHR reallocates a class to a higher pay band: 
 

a. An employee in that class shall receive a salary increase at least to the new 
minimum of the new pay band; or 

 
b. An employee in that class may receive up to a 15% salary adjustment provided such 

increase does not place an employee’s salary above the maximum of the new pay 
band. 

 
D. An employee is not eligible to receive a salary increase upon downward reclassification or 

demotion. 
 
E. Return from Leave Without Pay - An employee who has returned from an authorized leave 

of absence without pay shall be paid at the same rate being paid at the time leave was 
granted, except that the employee shall be granted any legislative increases authorized 
during the employee’s leave of absence.  In determining the amount of adjustment that the 
employee shall be granted, the same implementation instructions that applied to all 
employees in that class shall be followed. 

 
19-705.05 SALARY DECREASES 
 

A. Agencies shall develop written policies to govern the administration of salary decreases for 
employees.  

 
B. In-Band Salary Decreases - Written justification for effecting any salary decrease shall be 

maintained by the employing agency.  An employee’s salary may be decreased within his 
current pay band for the following reasons: 

 
1. Performance Decrease – An agency may decrease an employee’s salary based upon 

performance in accordance with Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  
Such decrease shall be determined by the agency.  Performance decreases must not 
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place an employee's salary below the minimum of the pay band.  Performance 
decreases must be based on the results of an Employee Performance Management 
System (EPMS) evaluation. 

 
2. Assignment of Lower-Level Responsibilities  
 

a. Voluntary Reason - An employee who is voluntarily assigned lower-level 
responsibilities or moved to a position in his current pay band with lower-level 
responsibilities than his current position, may, at the discretion of the agency head 
or his designee, be paid at any rate within the pay band provided the rate is equal 
to or below the current salary and provided the employee signs a written statement 
indicating agreement to the salary decrease.  The signed document should be 
maintained by the agency.   

 
b. Involuntary Reason – A covered employee who is involuntarily assigned lower-

level responsibilities or moved to a position in his current pay band with lower-
level responsibilities than his current position, , may, at the discretion of the agency 
head or his designee, have his salary reduced no more than 15% or to the midpoint 
of the pay band, whichever is lower, immediately following the assignment of 
lower-level responsibilities.  For decreases of more than 15% the agency must 
submit written justification to DSHR for approval. 
 
If the employee's salary is allowed to remain above the maximum of the pay band, 
the employee shall not be eligible for pay increases unless: 

 
(1) Subsequent pay adjustments establish the maximum of the pay band above the 

employee's rate of pay; or 
 
(2) The employee is subsequently promoted, or his position is reclassified and his 

current rate of pay is below the maximum for the pay band for the class to which 
promoted or reclassified. 

 
C. Salary Decreases Resulting from Downward Band Changes - Written justification for 

effecting any salary decrease shall be maintained by the employing agency.  An employee's 
salary may be decreased as a result of movement to a lower pay band for the following 
reasons: 

 
1. Demotion and Downward Reclassification Decreases 
 

a. Voluntary Reason - An employee who voluntarily has his position reclassified to a 
class with a lower pay band or is demoted to a position in a lower pay band, may, 
at the discretion of the agency head or his designee, be paid at a salary equal to or 
below the current salary.  However, the rate must be within the lower pay band and 
the employee must sign a written statement indicating agreement to the salary 
decrease.  The signed document should be maintained by the agency.   

 



State Human Resources Regulations 

37 
 

b. Disciplinary or Performance Reason - An employee who, as the result of a 
disciplinary action or unsatisfactory rating on an EPMS evaluation, has his position 
reclassified to a class with a lower pay band or is demoted to a position in a lower 
pay band, may, at the discretion of the agency head, be paid at a rate equal to or 
below the current salary, but within the lower pay band. 

 
c. Involuntary or Non-Disciplinary Reason – When an employee is demoted due to 

involuntary or non-disciplinary reasons or when an occupied position is reclassified 
to a class in a lower pay band for these reasons, the employee's salary may, at the 
discretion of the agency head or designee be reduced no more than 15% or to the 
midpoint of the pay band, whichever is lower, immediately following the demotion 
or downward reclassification.  For decreases of more than 15% the agency must 
submit written justification to DSHR for approval. 
 
If the employee's salary is allowed to remain above the maximum of the lower pay 
band, the employee shall not be eligible for pay increases unless: 

 
(1) Subsequent pay adjustments establish the maximum of the pay band above the 

employee's rate of pay; or 
 
(2) The employee is subsequently promoted, or his position is reclassified and his 

current rate of pay is below the maximum for the pay band for the class to which 
promoted or reclassified. 

 
d. An employee who is promoted or his position is reclassified upward, and 

subsequently demoted or his position is reclassified downward prior to attaining 
permanent status in a class of a higher pay band, shall have a reduction in pay as 
follows: 

 
(1) When an employee is demoted or his position is reclassified to the previous 

class or to a class with the same pay band held prior to promotion or 
reclassification, or to a class with a lower pay band, the employee's salary will 
be reduced by the amount previously received upon promotion or upward 
reclassification provided the salary will not exceed the maximum of the pay 
band for the class to which demoted or downwardly reclassified. 

 
(2) When an employee is demoted or his position is reclassified downward to a 

class having a higher pay band than the original position, the employee's salary 
will be reduced by the amount previously received upon promotion or 
reclassification and the employee’s new salary will be established in accordance 
with Section 19-705.04 D. 
 

2. Downward Band Reallocation 
 

When a class is reallocated to a lower pay band, the pay of an employee shall not be 
changed as a result of this action for a period of six months from the date of the action 
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unless an exception is approved by the Department of Administration. After the 
expiration of the six-month period, with the approval of the agency head, the 
employee's salary may be reduced no more than 15% or to the midpoint of the pay 
band, whichever is lower.  If the employee's salary exceeds the maximum of the new 
pay band, the employee shall not be eligible for pay increases of any type unless: 
 
a. Subsequent pay adjustments establish the maximum of the pay band above the 

employee's rate of pay; or 
 
b. The employee is subsequently promoted or his position is reclassified, and his 

current rate of pay is below the maximum of the pay band for the class to which 
promoted or reclassified. 

 
19-705.06 SPECIAL SALARY ADJUSTMENTS 
 

The State Human Resources Director is authorized to approve pay actions outside the 
provisions of Sections 19-705.04 and 19-705.05 if circumstances warrant such approval. 

 
19-705.07 COMPENSATION NOT INCLUDED IN BASE SALARY 
 

A. Temporary Salary Adjustment – The Division of State Human Resources is authorized to 
approve a temporary salary adjustment for an employee in a full-time equivalent (FTE) 
position if circumstances warrant such approval.  The temporary salary adjustment must 
be removed when the circumstances that warranted such an increase are no longer present.  
Removal of a temporary salary adjustment does not constitute a basis for a grievance or 
appeal.     

 
B. Shift Differential Pay - The Division of State Human Resources may approve the additional 

payment of a shift differential for approved classifications of employees in the entire 
agency or any portion of the agency assigned to an evening, night, weekend, rotating, or 
split shift.  To qualify the shift for approval, the majority of hours of the shift must be 
outside the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.  The employee’s pay 
shall be adjusted by the amount approved, even if such amount increases the employee’s 
salary above the maximum of the pay band for the class. Removal of a shift differential 
does not constitute a basis for a grievance or appeal. 

 
C. On-Call Pay - On-call pay is pay by the employing agency for approved classifications of 

employees in the entire agency or any portion of the agency to remain available to return 
to work within a specified period of time.  The Division of State Human Resources must 
approve on-call pay for employees.  Removal of on call pay does not constitute a basis for 
a grievance or appeal. 

 
D. Call Back Pay - Call back pay is pay by the employing agency for an employee to report 

to work either before or after normal duty hours to perform emergency services.  Each 
agency shall determine which groups of employees shall be subject to call back.  
Nonexempt employees shall be compensated for hours worked as a result of a call back at 
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their regular hourly rate plus any shift differential for which they might be eligible and 
such time shall be counted in computing any overtime that may be due.  When an employee 
to be called back for emergency services which require less than two hours on the job, or 
when no work is available when he reports, the employee shall be compensated a minimum 
of two hours.  An employee shall not receive call back pay if: 

 
1. The call back has been canceled and the employee received notice in advance not to 

report to work, or 
 
2. The employee refuses alternate work that is offered upon reporting to work. 

 
Removal of call back pay does not constitute a basis for a grievance or appeal. 
 

E. Special Assignment Pay – The Division of State Human Resources may approve additional 
compensation to classifications of employees in the entire agency or any portion of the 
agency for periods of time when he is on special assignment if circumstances warrant such 
approval based on guidelines established by DSHR.  Removal of a special assignment pay 
does not constitute a basis for a grievance or appeal. 

 
F. Market or Geographic Differential Pay - The Division of State Human Resources may 

approve Market or Geographic Differential Pay for classifications of employees in the 
entire agency or any portion of the agency for periods of time when circumstances warrant 
such approval. Removal of market or geographic differential pay does not constitute a basis 
for a grievance or appeal. 
  

G. Bonuses – The General Assembly has authorized various programs through which agencies 
may award bonuses to employees.  Agencies shall comply with guidelines established by 
the Department of Administration in the administration of bonus programs. 

 
H. Grant Salary Adjustment - The Division of State Human Resources is authorized to 

approve a grant salary adjustment for an employee in an FTE position if circumstances 
warrant such approval.  The grant salary adjustment must be removed when the 
circumstances that warranted such an increase are no longer present. Removal of grant 
salary adjustment pay does not constitute a basis for a grievance or appeal.  

 
19-705.08 EFFECTIVE DATES OF SALARY CHANGES 

 
A. Unless otherwise stated, the effective date of all salary changes provided in these 

Regulations shall be no earlier than the date the action is approved by the appropriate 
authority. 

 
B. Retroactivity 

 
Agencies must comply with Article III, Section30 of the South Carolina Constitution 
regarding retroactivity. 
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C. Concurrent Increases 
 

1. When general increases and other salary increases are awarded on the same date, the 
general increase shall be applied prior to any other salary increases. 

 
2. When performance pay increases under Section 8-11-940 of the South Carolina Code 

of Laws and salary increases other than general increases are awarded on the same date, 
the performance pay increases shall be applied prior to any other salary increases. 
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19-706 ESTABLISHMENT OF UNCLASSIFIED POSITIONS AND THE 
UNCLASSIFIED EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION PLAN 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation governs the establishment, maintenance, and administration of the 
Unclassified Compensation Plan applicable to all unclassified FTE positions, except athletics 
coaches and unclassified employees in the athletics department of post-secondary educational 
institutions as defined in Section59-107-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws except the 
technical education colleges. 
 

19-706.01 CATEGORIES OF UNCLASSIFIED POSITIONS 
 

A. An unclassified position is a full-time equivalent (FTE) position that has been assigned to 
an unclassified State title and falls under one of the following categories: 1) agency head 
covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission, 2) Executive Compensation System, 3) 
academic personnel, or 4) unclassified other. 

 
B. The compensation of agency heads covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission is 

addressed in Section 19-706.04 A. 
 
C. The compensation of employees in positions covered by the Executive Compensation 

System is governed by Section 19-706.04 B. 
 
D. Academic personnel are defined by Section 8-11-220 of the South Carolina Code of Laws 

as “presidents, provosts, vice presidents, deans, teaching and research staffs, and others of 
academic rank employed by the State educational institutions of higher learning, or medical 
institutions of education and research.”  The compensation of employees in positions in the 
category of academic personnel is governed by Section 19-706.04 C.  Presidents who are 
covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission are not subject to the Regulations 
pertaining to academic personnel. 

 
E. Positions in the category of Unclassified Other include: 

 
1. Agency heads not covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission; 
 
2. Staff of the Governor’s office; 
 
3. Teachers; 
 
4. Such other personnel employed by the institutions of higher learning and/or medical 

institutions of education and research as are recommended by the respective governing 
bodies and approved by the Department of Administration; 

 
5. Other positions as the General Assembly may elect to exempt. 
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The compensation of employees in positions in the category of Unclassified Other is 
governed by Section 19-706.04 D. 

 
19-706.02 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Department of Administration designates the State Human Resources Director to 
administer all Department of Administration policies and procedures relating to the 
unclassified State titles and compensation of employees in unclassified positions. 

 
B. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop and maintain a position numbering 

system that will identify each unclassified position. 
 
C. In an agency whose agency head is reviewed by the Agency Head Salary Commission, no 

employee may receive a salary in excess of 95% of the midpoint of the agency head’s 
salary range or the agency head’s actual salary, whichever is greater, except on approval 
of the State Human Resources Director.  Higher education technical colleges, colleges, and 
universities shall be exempt from this requirement. 

 
D. All pay actions which require approval from DSHR must receive such approval prior to an 

agency implementing the actions. 
 
E. The South Carolina Constitution prohibits an agency from granting extra compensation, 

fee, or allowance to any public officer, agent, servant, or contractor after services rendered, 
or contract made, nor authorize payment or part payment of any claim under any contract 
not authorized by law. 

 
F. All employees in unclassified positions with State salary ranges shall be paid within their 

respective range and the provisions of Section 19-706. 
 
G. An employee who has returned from an authorized leave of absence without pay shall be 

paid at the same rate being paid at the time leave was granted, except that the employee 
may be granted any legislative increases made during the employee's absence.  In 
determining the amount of adjustment that the employee may be granted, the same 
implementation instructions that applied to all other employees in the same unclassified 
category shall be followed. 

 
H. A position may move between the classified and unclassified systems provided the agency 

does not exceed its respective number of classified and unclassified authorized FTEs.  
(Refer to Section 19-704.08.) 

 
I. When an employee moves from a classified position to an unclassified position, the 

employee’s pay will be governed by the unclassified compensation plan. 
 
J. An agency’s request for or implementation of an increase in salary shall be requested or 

implemented when sufficient funds are available.  The State Human Resources Director 
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may require submission of appropriate documentation attesting to the availability of 
funding. 

 
K. An agency shall maintain documentation appropriate for administration of these 

Regulations. 
 

L. Prior to implementation, agencies shall develop any written policies described in these 
Regulations to govern the administration of salary increases and decreases. 

 
M. The State Human Resources Director shall have the authority to make exceptions to Section 

19-706 consistent with federal, State and local laws. 
 
19-706.03 ADMINISTRATION OF THE COMPENSATION PLAN 

 
A. The Division of State Human Resources will coordinate with agencies to develop, 

implement, and maintain unclassified State titles which appropriately identify and 
distinguish between unclassified positions. 

 
B. An unclassified position should be authorized by the General Assembly and established by 

DSHR.  When establishing an unclassified position, DSHR assigns a position number, 
unclassified State title and code, slot number, and State salary range, if applicable. 
 

C. The Division of State Human Resources has the authority to designate a classified position 
as unclassified for purposes of initially placing positions in the Executive Compensation 
System.   
 

D. The Division of State Human Resources may, as appropriate, conduct studies of 
unclassified positions with State salary ranges for the purpose of making recommendations 
that will promote a competitive compensation plan.  

 
19-706.04 HIRING SALARIES, SALARY INCREASES, AND SALARY DECREASES 
FOR EMPLOYEES IN UNCLASSIFIED POSITIONS 
 

A. Agency Heads Covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission  
 

The compensation of agency heads covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission is 
governed by the Commission and the State Fiscal Accountability Authority. 

 
B. Executive Compensation System 

 
1. Hiring Salaries for Employees in the Executive Compensation System 

 
a. Hiring at the Minimum - An employee must be paid at least the minimum of the 

State salary range for the position. 
 
b. Hiring Above the Minimum – An employee may be hired at a salary up to the 
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midpoint of the State salary range for the position if circumstances warrant such 
approval.  The Department of Administration may authorize payment of a salary 
above the midpoint of the State salary range for the position based on written 
justification submitted by the agency. 

 
c. Entry into the Executive Compensation System - Upon movement into the new 

position, the employee is eligible for up to a 15% salary increase or up to the 
midpoint of the State salary range for the new position, whichever is greater.  Such 
increase shall not place the employee’s salary above the maximum of the new State 
salary range.  The Department of Administration may authorize exceptions based 
on written justification submitted by the agency. 

 
2. Salary Increases for Employees in the Executive Compensation System 

 
a. Written justification for awarding salary increases shall be maintained by the 

agency. 
 
b. In-Range Increases 

 
(1) Legislative Increase – An annual pay increase shall be provided to the 

Executive Compensation System employees in accordance with the provisions 
of the annual Appropriation Act. 

 
(2) Performance Increase - An agency may increase an employee’s salary based 

upon performance in accordance with Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina 
Code of Laws.  Such an increase shall be determined by the agency.  A 
performance increase shall not place an employee’s salary above the maximum 
of the State salary range. 

 
c. Salary Increases Upon Promotion 
 

(1) Upon promotion, an employee’s salary must be at least the minimum of the 
State salary range for the position to which promoted. 

 
(2) Upon promotion, an employee's salary may be increased up to 15% or up to the 

midpoint of the State salary range for the position to which promoted, 
whichever is greater.  Such increase shall not place the employee's salary above 
the maximum of the new State salary range.  The Department of Administration 
may authorize exceptions based on written justification submitted by the 
agency. 

 
d. Salary Increases Upon Upward Reevaluation 
 

(1) When an occupied position is reevaluated and is assigned a higher State salary 
range, the employee’s salary must be at least the minimum of the new State 
salary range. 
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(2) Upon an upward reevaluation, an employee's salary may be increased up to 15% 

or up to the midpoint of the State salary range, whichever is greater.  Such 
increase shall not place the employee's salary above the maximum of the new 
State salary range. 

 
3. Salary Decreases for Employees in the Executive Compensation System 

 
a. Written justification for effecting any salary decrease shall be maintained by the 

agency. 
 
b. Performance Decrease – An agency may decrease an employee’s salary based upon 

performance in accordance with Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina Code of 
Laws.  Performance decreases may not place an employee's salary below the 
minimum of the State salary range.  Performance decreases must be based on the 
results of an Employee Performance Management System (EPMS) evaluation, and 
the salary decrease shall be determined by the agency. 

 
c. Salary Decreases Upon Demotion or Downward Reevaluation 

 
(1) Voluntary Reason - An employee, who is voluntarily demoted to a position with 

a lower State salary range or who voluntarily has his position reevaluated to a 
lower State salary range, may at the discretion of the agency head or his 
designee, be paid at any salary equal to or below the current salary.  However, 
the salary must be within the lower State salary range, and the employee must 
sign a written statement indicating agreement to the salary decrease.  The signed 
document with justification should be maintained by the agency. 

 
(2) Disciplinary or Performance Reason - An employee who, as the result of a 

disciplinary action or an unsatisfactory rating on an EPMS evaluation, has his 
position reevaluated to a lower State salary range or is demoted to a position 
with a lower State salary range, may, at the discretion of the agency head, be 
paid at any salary within the lower State salary range provided the salary is 
equal to or below the current salary, but must be within the lower State salary 
range. 

 
(3) Involuntary or Non-Disciplinary Reason - When a covered employee is 

demoted due to involuntary or non-disciplinary reasons or when an occupied 
position is reevaluated to a lower State salary range for these reasons, the 
employee's salary shall not be reduced for a period of six months from the date 
of the demotion or downward reevaluation unless an exception is approved by 
the Department of Administration.  After the expiration of the six-month period, 
with the approval of the agency head or his designee, the employee's salary may 
be reduced no more than 15% or to the midpoint of the State salary range, 
whichever is lower.  An employee exempt from the State Employee Grievance 
Procedure Act, who is involuntarily demoted or whose position is downwardly 
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reevaluated may have his salary reduced no more than 15% or to the midpoint 
of the pay State salary range, whichever is lower, immediately following the 
demotion or downward reevaluation.   
 
If the employee's salary is allowed to remain above the maximum of the lower 
State salary range for the position, the employee shall not be eligible for pay 
increases unless: 

 
(a) Subsequent pay adjustments establish the maximum of the State salary 

range above the employee's rate of pay; or 
 
(b) The employee is subsequently promoted, or his position is reevaluated and 

his current salary is below the maximum of the State salary range for the 
position. 

 
C. Academic Personnel 

 
1. Hiring Salaries for Employees in the Category of Academic Personnel 

 
Agencies may determine hiring salaries for unclassified employees in the category of 
academic personnel.  Agencies should consider comparable positions and market data 
for the occupational area when setting initial hiring salaries for employees in this 
category. 

 
2. Salary Increases for Employees in the Category of Academic Personnel  

 
a. Agencies shall develop written policies to govern the administration of salary 

increases for academic personnel in unclassified positions.  Written justification 
for awarding salary increases shall be maintained by the agency. 
 

b. A legislative increase shall be provided to academic personnel in accordance with 
the provisions of the annual Appropriation Act. 

 
c. Agencies may award a salary increase of up to 15% for any of the reasons listed 

below. For an increase of more than 15%, the agency must submit written 
justification to DSHR for approval. 

 
(1) The acquisition of additional skills or knowledge directly related to the job; 
 
(2) The assignment of additional job duties or responsibilities;  

 
(3) The retention of an employee who has a bona fide job offer from an employer, 

either within or outside of State government.  For an increase of more than 
15%, the employee must have a bona fide job offer and the request must be 
submitted to DSHR for approval.  An employee shall receive no more than one 
retention increase in a one-year period; 
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(4) The need to address internal equity or equity with the external market; 

 
(5) Promotion to a higher-level position - The agency shall determine whether the 

new position has a higher level of job duties or responsibilities than the former 
position; or 

 
(6) Assignment of higher-level job duties or responsibilities as defined by the 

agency which results in a change in unclassified State title. 
 

d. As provided in an agency’s faculty promotion policy, the agency may develop 
policies for rank promotions for faculty.  Such increases shall be determined by the 
agency. 

 
e. A performance increase may be awarded to an employee in accordance with 

Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  Such increases shall be 
determined by the agency. 
 

3. Demotions and Salary Decreases for Employees in the Category of Academic 
Personnel  

 
Agencies shall develop written policies to govern the administration of salary decreases 
for academic personnel.  Written justification for effecting any salary decrease shall be 
maintained by the agency. 
 
a. Performance or Disciplinary Decrease – An agency may decrease an employee’s 

salary based upon performance or disciplinary reasons. Performance decreases 
should be based on the results of a performance evaluation.  Any salary decrease 
shall be determined by the agency. 

 
b. Demotion and Assignment of Lower-Level Responsibilities  

 
(1) Voluntary Reason - An employee, who is voluntarily demoted or is voluntarily 

assigned to lower-level responsibilities within his current position, may be paid 
at a rate which is agreed upon by the employee and the agency provided the 
employee signs a written statement indicating agreement to the salary decrease.  
The signed document should be maintained by the agency.    

 
(2) Involuntary Reason – An employee, who is involuntarily demoted or assigned 

lower-level responsibilities, shall not have his salary reduced by more than 
15%.  For a decrease of more than 15%, the agency must submit written 
justification to DSHR for approval. 

  
4. Administrative Salary Adjustment 
 

Institutions of higher learning may award administrative salary adjustments to 
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unclassified academic personnel during periods of time when they are assigned 
additional administrative responsibilities related to their role as Dean, Assistant Dean, 
Associate Dean, or Department Chairman.  Administrative salary adjustments are not 
considered part of the employee's base salary.  An agency may award an administrative 
salary adjustment of up to 15%.  For an increase of more than 15% or for an increase 
related to administrative responsibilities other than those listed above, the agency must 
submit written justification to DSHR for approval. 

 
5. Summer Employment for Academic Personnel of State Institutions of Higher Learning 

 
a. Summer employment is not considered dual employment, which covers additional 

compensation earned during an employee’s base period of employment.  Therefore, 
summer employment may occur over any specified period of time between May 
and September of a calendar year. 

 
b. All institutions of higher learning should develop policies and procedures for 

governing academic personnel who are teaching summer sessions outside of their 
base period of employment.  Institutions of higher learning should consider 
comparable positions and market data for the occupational area when determining 
compensation for summer teaching.  The rate of pay should be comparable to the 
preceding academic year and may not exceed 40% of the employee’s annualized 
salary.  Written justification for any exceptions should be submitted to DSHR for 
approval.  

 
c. Academic personnel shall be compensated at the same rate of pay as the 

immediately preceding academic year for sponsored research or other activities 
performed during the summer months (between academic years) which are not 
related to a regular summer session. 

 
d. Institutions of higher learning shall maintain records of all agreements pertaining 

to summer employment. 
 

D. Unclassified Other 
 

1. Unclassified Other (Agency Heads Not Covered By the Agency Head Salary 
Commission) 

 
Agency heads not covered by the Agency Head Salary Commission shall have their 
salary established in accordance with relevant legislation. 

 
2. Unclassified Other (Teachers) 

 
Agencies shall pay all teachers the appropriate salary and any increases provided by 
the salary schedule of the school district in which the agency is located.   

 
3. Unclassified Other (Non-Teachers) 
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a. Hiring Salaries for Employees in the Category of Unclassified Other (Non-

Teachers) 
Agencies may determine hiring salaries for employees in the category of 
unclassified other (non-teachers).  Agencies should consider comparable positions 
and market data for the occupational area when setting hiring salaries for employees 
in these unclassified positions. 

 
b. Salary Increases for Employees in the Category of Unclassified Other (Non-

Teachers) 
 

(1) Written justification for awarding salary increases shall be maintained by the 
agency. 
 

(2) A legislative increase shall be provided to employees in the category of 
unclassified other (non-teachers) in accordance with the provisions of the 
annual Appropriation Act. 
 

(3) Agencies may award a salary increase of up to 15% for any of the reasons listed 
below. For an increase of more than 15%, the agency must submit written 
justification to DSHR for approval. 

 
(a) The acquisition of additional skills or knowledge directly related to the job; 
 
(b) The assignment of additional job duties or responsibilities;  

 
(c) The retention of an employee who has a bona fide job offer from an 

employer, either within or outside of State government.  For an increase of 
more than 15%, the employee must have a bona fide job offer and the request 
must be submitted to DSHR for approval.  An employee shall receive no 
more than one retention increase in a one-year period; 

 
(d)  The need to address internal equity or equity with the external market; 
 
(e) Promotion to a higher-level position.  The agency shall determine whether 

the new position has a higher level of job duties or responsibilities than the 
former position; or 

 
(f) Assignment of higher-level job duties or responsibilities which results in a 

change in unclassified State title. 
 

(4) A performance increase may be awarded to an employee in accordance with 
Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  Such increases shall be 
determined by the agency. 
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c. Demotions and Salary Decreases for Employees in the Category of Unclassified 
Other (Non-Teachers) 
 
Agencies shall develop written policies to govern the administration of salary 
decreases for employees in the category of unclassified other (non-teachers).  
Written justification for effecting any salary decrease shall be maintained by the 
agency. 

 
(1) Performance Decrease – An agency may decrease an employee’s salary based 

upon performance in accordance with Section 8-1-160 of the South Carolina 
Code of Laws. Performance decreases must be based on the results of an 
Employee Performance Management System (EPMS) evaluation, and the 
salary decrease shall be determined by the agency. 

 
(2) Demotion or Assignment of Lower-Level Responsibilities  
 

(a) Voluntary Reason - An employee, who is demoted or is voluntarily assigned 
to lower-level responsibilities within his current position, may be paid at a 
rate which is agreed upon by the employee and the agency provided the 
employee signs a written statement indicating agreement to the salary 
decrease.  The signed document should be maintained by the agency. 

 
(b) Involuntary Reason –  
 

i. Disciplinary or Performance Reason - An employee who, as the result 
of a disciplinary action or unsatisfactory rating on an EPMS evaluation, 
is demoted or assigned lower-level responsibilities, shall not have his 
salary reduced by more than 15%.  For a decrease of more than 15%, 
the agency must submit written justification to DSHR for approval. 

 
ii. An employee, who is involuntarily demoted or assigned lower-level 

responsibilities, shall not have his salary reduced by more than 15% 
immediately following the demotion or assignment of lower-level 
responsibilities. 

 
For a decrease of more than 15%, the agency must submit written 
justification to DSHR for approval. 
 

19-706.05 COMPENSATION NOT INCLUDED IN BASE SALARY 
 

A. Temporary Salary Adjustment – The Division of State Human Resources is authorized to 
approve a temporary salary adjustment for an employee in an FTE position if circumstances 
warrant such approval.  The temporary salary adjustment must be removed when the 
circumstances that warranted such an increase are no longer present.  Removal of 
temporary salary adjustment does not constitute a basis for a grievance.  
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B. Bonuses – The General Assembly has authorized various programs through which agencies 
may award bonuses to employees. Agencies shall comply with guidelines established by 
the Department of Administration in the administration of bonus programs. 

 
C. Grant Salary Adjustment – The Division of State Human Resources is authorized to 

approve a grant salary adjustment for an employee in an FTE position if circumstances 
warrant such approval.  The grant salary adjustment must be removed when the 
circumstances that warranted such an increase are no longer present.  Removal of grant 
salary adjustment does not constitute a basis for a grievance. 

 
D. Special Assignment Pay – The Division of State Human Resources may approve additional 

compensation to classifications of employees in the entire agency or any portion of the 
agency for periods of time when he is on special assignment if circumstances warrant such 
approval based on guidelines established by DSHR. Removal of special assignment pay 
does not constitute a basis a grievance. 

 
19-706.06 EFFECTIVE DATES OF SALARY CHANGES 
 

A. Unless otherwise stated, the effective date of all salary changes provided in Sections 19-
706.04 and 19-706.05 shall be no earlier than the date the action is approved by the 
appropriate authority. 

 
B. Retroactivity 

Agencies must comply with Article III, Section 8-11-940 of the South Carolina 
Constitution regarding retroactivity. 

 
C. Concurrent Increases 

When general increases and other salary increases are awarded on the same date, the 
general increase shall be applied prior to any other salary increases. 
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19-707 HOURS OF WORK AND OVERTIME 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the hours of work and overtime policies for employees. 

 
19-707.01 HOURS OF WORK 

 
A. The minimum full-time workweek for employees of agencies and institutions is 37.5 hours.  

The agency may vary an employee's work schedule through the use of alternative 
scheduling strategies including telecommuting to meet the needs and service delivery 
requirements of the agency.   

 
B. The agency may require an employee to work additional hours.  

 
C. Each agency is required to keep an accurate record of all employee’s scheduled hours of 

work and leave taken.  Leave shall be recorded in the appropriate categories and shown as 
either leave with or without pay.  The agency head has the ultimate responsibility for the 
accuracy and proper maintenance of hours of work and leave records. 

 
19-707.02 OVERTIME - COMPENSATORY TIME 
 

A. The Division of State Human Resources develops an overtime model policy to assist an 
agency in its policy development.  The Division of State Human Resources must review 
and approve each agency’s overtime policy.   

 
B. Each agency shall develop an overtime policy and establish procedures that will ensure 

compliance with federal and state laws, including the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).  
 
C. By interpretation of the United States Department of Labor, State government is 

considered to be one employer for the purposes of applying FLSA. 
 

D. For overtime purposes the two categories of employees are: (a) nonexempt (overtime 
provisions of FLSA do apply) and (b) exempt (overtime provisions of FLSA do not apply).  
The exempt or nonexempt status of any employee must be determined by the agency based 
on the provisions of FLSA.  It is the responsibility of the agency head or his designee to 
determine whether an exemption is applicable to a particular employee. 

 
E. Workweek is seven consecutive 24-hour periods, i.e., 168 consecutive hours designated by 

the employing agency. 
 

Exception - In the case of law enforcement personnel or fire protection and emergency 
medical personnel, these categories of employees have work schedules up to 28 
consecutive 24-hour periods, i.e., 672 consecutive hours designated by the employing 
agency. 
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F. Hours worked are all hours that an employee is permitted to work for the employing 
agency.  Hours worked includes time during which an employee is necessarily required to 
be on the employing agency’s premises, on duty, or at a prescribed work place.  Hours 
worked do not include leave with or without pay or holidays when an employee does not 
actually work. 
 

G. Overtime is actual hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a given seven consecutive day 
workweek as determined by the employing agency.  The Fair Labor Standards Act contains 
special provisions for determining when overtime is earned by employees in certain job 
categories.  These categories include: 

 
1. Fire protection and emergency medical personnel; 

 
2. Law enforcement (including security personnel in correctional institutions); 

 
3. Hospitals or institutions primarily engaged in the care of the sick, the aged, the mentally 

ill, or the disabled that reside on the premises; and 
 

4. Employees who are compensated for overtime using the fluctuating workweek method 
of payment for overtime as defined by FLSA which must be approved by DSHR prior 
to implementation. 

 
H. Generally, a nonexempt employee should not incur overtime; however, overtime may be 

permitted when authorized by the agency. 
 
I. Compensatory time is an acceptable alternative to overtime compensation for employees. 

 
1. Upon separation from employment, nonexempt employees shall be paid for unused 

compensatory time, and exempt employees shall not be paid for unused compensatory 
time. Nonexempt employees shall be paid out for any unused compensatory time prior 
to transferring to another agency.  Prior to an employee changing from a nonexempt 
status to an exempt status, nonexempt employees shall be paid out for any unused 
compensatory time. 

 
2. Nonexempt employees shall be paid for unused compensatory time at a rate of 

compensation not less than the higher of: 
 

a. The average regular rate received by such employee during the last three years of 
the employee's employment, or 

 
b. The final regular rate received by such employee. 

 
J. Nonexempt Employee Procedures 

 
1. Payment for Overtime 
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Nonexempt employees shall either be paid overtime or given compensatory time for 
hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a given workweek of seven consecutive days as 
determined by the employing agency.  For hours worked in excess of 40 in an 
established workweek of seven consecutive days, payment for overtime or the accrual 
of compensatory time shall be at the rate of time and one-half the employee's regular 
rate, computed on the basis of a 40-hour workweek.  (Refer to Exceptions in Section 
19-707.02 G.) 

 
2. Compensatory Time for Nonexempt Employees  
 

a. A nonexempt employee engaged in public safety work, emergency response work, 
or seasonal work may not accumulate more than 480 hours of compensatory time.  
Any nonexempt employee who has accumulated 480 hours of compensatory time 
shall be paid overtime for additional hours of work.  

  
b. A nonexempt employee engaged in work other than public safety work, emergency 

response work, or seasonal work, may not accumulate more than 240 hours of 
compensatory time.  Any nonexempt employee who has accumulated 240 hours of 
compensatory time shall be paid overtime for additional hours of work. 

 
3. Recordkeeping for Nonexempt Employees 

 
Each agency must maintain information for nonexempt employees as required by the 
United States Department of Labor. 
 

K. Exempt Employee Procedures 
 
1. No Payment for Overtime 
 

Exempt employees shall not be paid overtime. 
 

2. Compensatory Time 
 

If allowed by an agency’s overtime policy, exempt employees may receive 
compensatory time for hours worked in excess of 40 in the workweek.  If granted, 
compensatory time must not be at a rate greater than one hour of compensatory time 
for each hour worked in excess of 40 in the workweek.  Under no circumstances shall 
an exempt employee accumulate more compensatory time than FLSA allows for a 
nonexempt employee. 

 
L. Employment at More Than One State Agency 

 
When a nonexempt employee is employed at more than one State agency, each employing 
agency shall calculate separately the hours worked by the employee.  By interpretation of 
the United States Department of Labor, State government is considered to be one employer 
for the purpose of applying FLSA; therefore, the agencies where the individual is employed 
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should jointly determine whether such a nonexempt employee is owed any overtime 
compensation during a workweek.  (For information on dual employment, refer to Section 
19-713.)   

 
M. Volunteers 

 
Time spent as a volunteer is not included in hours worked.  An employee who performs 
hours of service for a public agency for civic, charitable, or humanitarian reasons, without 
promise, expectation or receipt of compensation for services rendered, is considered to be 
a volunteer during such hours. An employee shall not be considered a volunteer if the 
employee is otherwise employed by the same public agency to perform the same type of 
services as those for which the employee proposes to volunteer.  An employee may be paid 
expenses, reasonable benefits, a nominal fee, or any combinations thereof, for their service 
without losing status as volunteers. Determining if the receipt of expenses, benefits or fees 
would result in loss of volunteer status is a case-by-case analysis based on the total amount 
of expenses, benefits, and fees in the context of the economic realities of the situation. 
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19-708 HOLIDAYS  
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the observance of holidays by employees in FTE positions. 

 
19-708.01 ELIGIBILITY 
 

All employees in FTE positions shall be allowed to observe with pay those holidays listed in 
Section 19-708.02. 

 
19-708.02 LEGAL HOLIDAYS 

 
State Holidays 
 

New Year's Day January 1 
 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Third Monday in January 
 
George Washington's Birthday/President’s Day Third Monday in February 
 
Confederate Memorial Day May 10 
 
National Memorial Day Last Monday in May 
 
Independence Day July 4 
 
Labor Day First Monday in September 

 
Veterans Day November 11 
 
Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November 
 
Day after Thanksgiving Friday Following Thanksgiving 
 
Christmas Eve December 24 
 
Christmas Day December 25 
 
Day after Christmas December 26 
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19-708.03 HOLIDAY OBSERVANCE PROCEDURE 
 

A. Holidays are to be taken on the prescribed day unless the agency requires the employee to 
work.  The agency shall give employees who must work on holidays prior notice if possible. 

 
B. Employees shall observe the holiday on the designated day or receive holiday compensatory 

time. 
 

C. When a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday is deemed a public holiday for all 
purposes. When a holiday falls on Saturday, the preceding Friday is deemed a public holiday 
for all purposes.  If either the following Monday or the preceding Friday is a holiday, then 
the State Human Resources Director will designate the day upon which the holiday will be 
observed by state employees.  To ensure that no more than the legal holidays specified in 
Section 53-5-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws are observed in a calendar year, a New 
Year’s Day that falls on a Saturday must be observed on the following Monday. 
 

D. Employees in FTE positions who do not work a normal Monday through Friday workweek 
shall receive no more nor any fewer number of holidays than those employees who work 
the normal Monday through Friday workweek. 

 
E. The length of an employee’s holiday is computed based on the number of hours in the 

employee’s average workday.  To determine the number of hours in a holiday, divide the 
total number of hours an employee is regularly scheduled to work during a week by five 
(regardless of the number of days the employee actually reports to work). 

 
F. When a holiday falls during a period of leave with pay, that day will be counted as a holiday, 

not as a day of leave. 
 
G. Employees who are on leave without pay the day before a holiday shall not be paid or 

receive holiday compensatory time for holidays falling during this period of leave without 
pay. 

 
H. The holiday schedules of public colleges and universities, including technical colleges, shall 

not be in violation of this Section so long as the number of holidays provided in this Section 
are not exceeded. 
 

19-708.04 HOLIDAY COMPENSATORY TIME 
 
A. An employee, except an employee of an agency following an academic schedule, who is 

required by the agency to work on a holiday shall be given holiday compensatory time at 
the convenience of the agency within 90 days of such holiday. 

 
B. An employee of an agency which follows an academic schedule who is required by the 

agency to work on a holiday shall be given holiday compensatory time at the convenience 
of the agency within one year from the date of the holiday. 
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C. An employee who must work a portion of the holiday due to a shift that begins on one day 
and ends on another shall be granted holiday compensatory time equal to all hours worked 
on the holiday. 

 
D. All nonexempt employees who are not allowed to take holiday compensatory time earned 

for working on a holiday within the 90-day period, or the one-year period in the case of 
employees who follow academic schedules, shall be compensated for the holiday by the 
employing agency at the straight hourly pay rate of the employee.  Exempt employees shall 
not be paid for unused holiday compensatory time.  An agency head or designee may 
extend the 90-day period for an additional 90 days because of limited staffing.  

 
E. All nonexempt employees shall be compensated for all holiday compensatory time upon 

separation from employment.  Nonexempt employees shall be paid out for any unused 
holiday compensatory time prior to transferring to another agency.  Prior to an employee 
changing from a nonexempt status to an exempt status, nonexempt employees shall be paid 
for any unused holiday compensatory time.  Exempt employees shall not be paid for unused 
holiday compensatory time upon separation of employment. 

 
F. Holiday Compensatory Time Records 
 

Records shall be maintained for all employees who receive holiday compensatory time.  
Information contained in the record must include: 
 
1. Compensatory time earned and used in terms of hours; and 

 
2. The number of hours per week the employee is normally scheduled to work and the 

employee’s average workday. 
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19-709 ANNUAL LEAVE  
 
SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the annual leave policies for employees in FTE positions. 
 

19-709.01 ELIGIBILITY 
 

A. Annual leave shall be earned by and granted to: 
 

1. Full-time employees in FTE positions, and 
 
2. Part-time employees in FTE positions who are: 

 
a. Scheduled to work at least one-half the workweek of the agency on a 12-month 

basis, or  
 
b. Scheduled to work the equivalent of one-half of the workweek during the full 

school or academic year of nine months or more. 
 

B. This Regulation shall not apply to teaching personnel and officials of academic rank at 
institutions of higher learning. 

 
19-709.02 ANNUAL LEAVE EARNINGS 

 
A. Computation 

 
1. Employees who are in pay status one-half or more but not all of the workdays of the 

month shall earn annual leave for the full month.  If they are in pay status for less than 
one-half the workdays, they shall earn no annual leave. 

 
2. Employees shall earn annual leave while on annual leave, sick leave, or other 

authorized leave with pay.  Employees shall not earn annual leave while on leave 
without pay. 

 
3. Employees’ annual leave earnings are computed based on the number of hours in the 

employee’s workday.  
 
4. Employees’ annual leave earnings are based on the employee’s leave accrual date.  The 

leave accrual date reflects: 
 
a. All State service in an FTE position, including part-time service, adjusted to reflect 

periods when there was a break in service;  
 
b. All service as a certified employee in a permanent position of a school district of 

this State; and 
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c. At the discretion of the agency head or his designee, all service in any temporary 

capacity counted towards the employee’s probationary period.  (Refer to Section 
19-704.02 D. 2.) 

 
B. Rate of Earnings 

 
1. Five-Day Workweek Schedule of 37.5 or 40 Hours Per Week 
 

a. To determine the number of hours in a workday, divide the total number of hours 
an employee is regularly scheduled to work during a week by five (regardless of 
the number of days the employee actually reports to work). 

 
b. Service of Ten Years or Less 
 

Employees on a five-day workweek schedule with service time of less than ten 
years shall earn annual leave at the rate of 1¼ workdays per month of service in 
each calendar year.  (See Chart #1 and Chart #2 below.)   

 
c. Service of More Than Ten Years 

 
Employees on a five-day per workweek schedule with State service time of more 
than ten years shall earn a bonus of 1¼ workdays of annual leave for each year of 
service over ten years.  (See Chart #1 and Chart #2 below.)   

 
 

Chart #1 
Five Days, 37.5 Hours Per Workweek Schedule 

(may be rounded to the nearest two decimal places) 
 

                                                                                   Earning Rate 
Years of Service Days Per Year         Hours Per Month 

1-10 15.00   9.375 
11 16.25 10.156 
12 17.50 10.937 
13 18.75 11.718 
14 20.00 12.500 
15 21.25 13.281 
16 22.50 14.062 
17 23.75 14.843 
18 25.00 15.624 
19 26.25 16.406 
20 27.50 17.187 
21 28.75 17.968 

22 & over 30.00 18.750 
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Chart #2 

Five Days, 40 Hours Per Workweek Schedule  
(may be rounded to the nearest two decimal places) 

 
                                                                                                   Earning Rate 

Years of Service Days Per Year Hours Per Month 
1-10 15.00 10.000 
11 16.25 10.833 
12 17.50 11.666 
13 18.75 12.500 
14 20.00 13.333 
15 21.25 14.167 
16 22.50 15.000 
17 23.75 15.833 
18 25.00 16.667 
19 26.25 17.500 
20 27.50 18.333 
21 28.75 19.167 

22 & over 30.00 20.000 
 
 

2. Schedules Other Than a Five-Day Workweek of 37.5 or 40 Hours Per Week 
 

All employees earn the number of days per year based on their years of service.  
However, the earning rate in hours per month varies according to the length of the 
workday.  If the workday differs from eight hours, divide the number of hours in the 
workday by eight, then multiply this ratio by the earnings rate in the last column of 
Chart #2 above.  Examples of such schedules could include: 

 
a. Law enforcement employees who are regularly scheduled to work 43 hours per 

week.  Forty-three hours divided by five equals a workday of 8.6 hours; 
 
b. Fire protection employees who are regularly scheduled to work 53 hours per week.  

Fifty-three hours divided by five equals a workday of 10.6 hours; 
 
c. Part-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work 20 hours per week.  

Twenty hours divided by five equals a workday of four hours; or 
 
d. Full-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work 39 hours per week.  

Thirty-nine hours divided by five equals a workday of 7.8 hours. 
 

C. Maximum Accrual and Carryover 
 

1. Employees shall be permitted to carryover from one calendar year to the next any 
unused annual leave up to a total accumulation of 45 workdays.  During the calendar 
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year, an employee may earn annual leave in excess of the 45 workdays; however, the 
employee may only carryover 45 days to the next calendar year. 

 
2. An employee who changes from being full-time to part-time or from part-time to full-

time, without a break in service, shall retain the annual leave hours previously earned.  
If this change results in the employee having a maximum accumulation in excess of 45 
workdays as of the effective date of the change, the employee shall not forfeit the 
excess.  The employee shall retain this excess leave which shall be the maximum 
amount the employee may carry over into future years.  If the employee subsequently 
reduces the amount of such leave carried over, the reduced amount, if in excess of 45 
workdays, shall become the employee’s maximum carryover into future years.  If the 
employee further reduces the amount of such leave carried over to 45 workdays or less, 
45 days shall become the maximum amount of unused annual leave the employee may 
thereafter carryover. During the calendar year, an employee may earn annual leave in 
excess of the 45 workdays; however, the employee may only carryover 45 days to the 
next calendar year. 

 
19-709.03 USING AND SCHEDULING ANNUAL LEAVE 
 

A. Leave taken under this Section may qualify as Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
leave and, if so, will run concurrently. 
 

B. Scheduling Leave 
 
1. To the degree possible, an employee’s request for a specific period of annual leave shall 

be approved.  Agencies may consider workloads and similar factors when reviewing 
the requests. 

 
2. Agency approval is required for the specific periods the employee shall be on annual 

leave, to include beginning and ending dates and computation of total hours. 
 

C. Maximum Days Used Per Year 
 

1. The maximum number of earned days of annual leave that may be used in any one 
calendar year shall not exceed 30 workdays. 

 
2. Exception 

 
a. For Family and Medical Leave Act or other disability related qualifying reasons, 

an agency may allow an employee who has used all eligible sick leave and 30 days 
of annual leave to use any remaining annual leave. 

 
b. For emergency or extreme hardship conditions as referenced in Section 8-11-670 

of the South Carolina Code of Laws, the agency head or designee may allow an 
employee, who has used all accumulated sick leave and thirty days of annual leave 
any remaining annual leave which he has accumulated. An employee may request 
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review by the State Human Resources Director the denial of the use of annual 
leave under this provision as provided for in Section 8-11-670 of the South 
Carolina Code of Laws. 
 

D. Increments for Use of Annual Leave 
 

Use of annual leave shall be calculated at either the actual time or the smallest increment 
of leave an agency allows. 
 

E. Holiday During Leave 
 
When a holiday is observed by the agency while an employee is using annual leave, the 
day shall be considered a holiday, not a day of annual leave for the employee. 

 
19-709.04 TRANSFER FROM ONE STATE AGENCY TO ANOTHER 

 
A. An employee who moves from an FTE position to an FTE position within 15 calendar days 

following the last day worked (or on approved leave) at the transferring agency shall transfer 
his earned annual leave.  When an employee transfers to an agency that has a different length 
workday in hours, his annual leave balance in hours shall be converted by dividing the number 
of hours the employee has accumulated by the receiving agency’s workday hours to determine 
the new number of annual leave days the employee has accrued.     

 
B. An employee who moves from a temporary grant or time-limited position to an FTE position 

within 15 calendar days following the last day worked (or on approved leave) at the 
transferring agency shall transfer his earned annual leave hours. 
 

C. An employee who moves from an FTE position to a temporary grant or time-limited position 
within 15 calendar days following the last day worked (or on approved leave) at the 
transferring agency shall not transfer their earned annual leave hours.  

 
D. When an employee transfers from a position in which he earns both sick and annual leave to 

a teaching position of academic rank at a State supported institution of higher learning, the 
employee shall be paid for earned annual leave according to Section 19-709.05. 

 
E. When the employee with a maximum carryover in excess of 45 workdays transfers from one 

agency to another, the employee shall retain the higher maximum carryover at the receiving 
agency.  If the employee subsequently reduces the amount of such leave carried over, the 
reduced amount, if in excess 45 workdays, shall become the employee’s maximum carryover 
into future years.  If the employee further reduces the amount of such leave carried over to 45 
workdays or less, 45 days shall become the maximum amount of unused annual leave the 
employee may thereafter carryover.  During the calendar year, the employee may earn annual 
leave in excess of the 45 workdays; however, the employee may only carryover 45 days to 
the next calendar year. 
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19-709.05 PAYMENT UPON SEPARATION FROM EMPLOYMENT 
 
Upon separation from State employment, a lump sum payment will be made for unused annual 
leave, not to exceed 45 days, without deducting any earned leave taken during the calendar 
year in which the employee separates.  If the employee has not experienced a break in service, 
the agency shall not pay out any unused annual leave.  However, an employee who transfers 
or is reassigned to a teaching position or position of academic rank at an institution of higher 
learning, as referenced in Section 8-11-680 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, should be 
paid out for any unused annual leave.  Upon the death of an employee while in active service, 
the estate of the deceased employee shall be entitled to the lump sum payment not to exceed 
45 days.  
 
Exception - Refer to Section 19-720.01 B. 2. (Exceptions). 

 
19-709.06 RECORDS 
 

A. The agency shall maintain all annual leave records for each employee eligible for annual 
leave.  Such records must include at least the following: 

 
1. The annual leave accrual rate for each employee; 
 
2. The number of annual leave hours earned and used during the current calendar year; 
 
3. The number of annual leave hours carried forward from the previous calendar year, but 

not exceeding the maximum accrual authorized; 
 

4. The number of hours in the employee's workweek and workday; and 
 

5. The number of hours paid out upon separation. 
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19-710 SICK LEAVE 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the sick leave policies for employees in FTE positions.   
 

19-710.01 ELIGIBILITY 
 

Sick leave shall be earned by and granted to: 
 

A. Full-time employees in FTE positions, and 
 
B. Part-time employees in FTE positions who are:  

 
1. Scheduled to work at least one-half the workweek of the agency on a 12-month basis, 

or  
 

2. Scheduled to work the equivalent of one-half of the workweek during the full school or 
academic year of nine months or more. 
 

 
19-710.02 SICK LEAVE EARNINGS 

 
A. Computation 

 
1. Employees who are in pay status for at least one-half or more of the workdays of the 

month shall earn sick leave for the full month.  If they are in pay status for less than one-
half the workdays, they shall earn no sick leave. 

 
2. Employees shall earn sick leave while on sick leave, annual leave, or other authorized 

leave with pay.  Employees shall not earn sick leave while on leave without pay. 
 

3. Employees’ sick leave earnings are computed based on the number of hours in the 
employee’s workday.   

 
B. Rate of Earnings 

 
1. Five-Day Workweek Schedule of 37.5 or 40 Hours Per Week 
 

All employees in FTE positions shall earn sick leave beginning with the date of 
employment at the rate of 1¼ workdays per month of service or 15 days per year.  To 
determine the number of hours in a workday, divide the total number of hours an 
employee is regularly scheduled to work during a week by five (regardless of the 
number of days the employee actually reported to work). 
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2. Schedules Other Than a Five-Day Workweek of 37.5 or 40 Hours Per Week 
 

To calculate the sick leave earnings for employees working schedules other than a five-
day workweek of 37.5 or 40 hours per week (including part-time, variable, and 
nonstandard work schedules), the agency must determine what a workday is for each 
such employee.  To determine the number of hours in a workday, divide the total 
number of hours an employee is regularly scheduled to work during a week by five 
(regardless of the number of days the employee actually reported to work).  Examples 
of such schedules could include: 

 
a. Law enforcement employees who are regularly scheduled to work 43 hours per 

week.  Forty-three hours divided by five equals a workday of 8.6 hours; 
 

b. Fire protection employees who are regularly scheduled to work 53 hours per week.  
Fifty-three hours divided by five equals a workday of 10.6 hours; 

 
c. Part-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work 20 hours per week.  

Twenty hours divided by five equals a workday of four hours; or 
 
d. Full-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work 39 hours per week.  

Thirty-nine hours divided by five equals a workday of 7.8 hours. 
 

C. Maximum Accrual and Carryover 
 

Full-time and part-time employees in FTE positions shall be permitted to earn up to 195 
workdays.  Full-time and part-time employees in FTE positions shall carryover from one 
calendar year to the next any unused earned sick leave up to a total maximum carryover of 
180 workdays. 

 
Exception: 

 
An employee who changes from being full-time to part-time or from part-time to full-time, 
without a break in service, shall retain the sick leave hours previously earned.  If this change 
results in the employee having a maximum accumulation in excess of 180 workdays, as of 
the effective date of the change, the employee shall not forfeit the excess.  The employee 
shall retain this excess leave which shall be the maximum amount the employee may carry 
over into future years.  If the employee subsequently reduces the amount of such leave 
carried over, the reduced amount, if in excess of 180 workdays, shall become the 
employee’s maximum carryover into future years.  If the employee further reduces the 
amount of such leave carried over to 180 workdays or less, 180 workdays shall become the 
maximum amount of unused sick leave the employee may thereafter carryover.  During the 
calendar year, an employee may earn sick leave in excess of 180 workdays; however, an 
employee may only carry over 180 days into the next year. 
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19-710.03 ADDITIONAL SICK LEAVE MAY BE GRANTED 
 
A. An agency may advance up to 15 workdays of additional sick leave to an employee in 

extenuating circumstances who has exhausted all sick, annual and compensatory leave. 
 
B. The agency may advance this leave only upon documentation from a health care provider 

that the employee is expected to return to work within that period of time. 
 
C. Upon return to work, the employee will have all earned sick leave applied to the leave 

deficit at the rate of 1¼ days per month (or if part-time, the monthly earning rate) until the 
deficit has been eliminated. 

 
D. If an employee separates from employment before satisfying the leave deficit and returns 

to state employment, the leave deficit will need to be satisfied upon reemployment. 
 
19-710.04 USING AND SCHEDULING SICK LEAVE 
 

A. Leave taken under this Section may qualify as Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
leave and, if so, will run concurrently. 

 
B. Reasons an employee shall be allowed to use sick leave are as follows: 

 
1. Personal illness, injury, or disability that incapacitates the employee to perform duties 

of the position.  [Note: In accordance with Section 8-11-110 of the South Carolina Code 
of Laws which recognizes alcoholism as a treatable illness, sick leave will be granted 
for the purpose of participating in public and private treatment and rehabilitation 
programs which have been approved by the South Carolina Department of Mental 
Health.]; 

 
2. Exposure to a contagious disease such that presence on duty could endanger the health 

of fellow employees; 
 

3. Appointment for medical or dental examination or treatment when such appointment 
cannot reasonably be scheduled during nonwork hours;  
[Note: if possible, examination appointments must be approved in advance by the 
agency designee.] 
 

4. Sickness during pregnancy or other temporary disabilities; 
[Note: If possible, the date on which sick leave for disability is to begin shall be at the 
request of the employee based on the determination and advice of a health care 
practitioner.] 
 

5. Caring for ill members of immediate family;   
[Note: Employees earning sick leave as provided in Section 19-710 may not use more 
than ten days of sick leave annually to care for ill members of their immediate families.  
For purposes of this section, the employee’s "immediate family" means the employee’s 
spouse and children and the following relations to the employee or the spouse of the 
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employee:  mother, father, brother, sister, grandparent, legal guardian, and 
grandchildren.] 
 

C. Verification 
 

The use of sick leave shall be subject to verification.  The agency designee may, before 
approving the use of sick leave, require the certificate of a health care practitioner verifying 
the need for sick leave and giving the inclusive dates. 
 

D. Increments for Use of Sick Leave 
 

Use of sick leave shall be calculated at either the actual time or in the smallest increments 
an agency will allow. 

 
E. Use of Sick Leave Before Going on Leave Without Pay 

 
In qualifying sick leave situations, the employee shall use all applicable sick leave before 
going on leave without pay unless the agency head or his designee grants an exception at 
the employee’s request. 

 
F. Holiday During Sick Leave 

 
When a holiday is observed by the agency while an employee uses sick leave, the day shall 
be considered a holiday, not a day of sick leave for the employee. 

 
19-710.05 TRANSFER  

 
A. Between State Agencies  

 
1. An employee who moves from an FTE position to an FTE position within 15 

calendar days (or on approved leave days) from the transferring agency shall 
transfer his sick leave. 

 
2. An employee who moves from a temporary grant or time-limited position to an 

FTE position within 15 calendar days (or on approved leave days) from the 
transferring agency shall transfer his sick leave. 

 
3. An employee who moves from an FTE position to a temporary grant or time-limited 

position within 15 calendar days (or on approved leave days) from the transferring 
agency shall not transfer his sick leave. 

 
B. Between a State Agency and School District 

 
An employee of a State agency transferring to a school district of the State or a school 
district employee transferring to a State agency is permitted to transfer to and retain at his 
new employer all sick leave he earned at his former employer regardless of his employment 
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status at the new employer. 
 

19-710.06 SEPARATION FROM EMPLOYMENT 
 
Upon separation from employment, an employee shall forfeit all earned sick leave. 

 
A. Retirement - An employee who is a Class Two member of the South Carolina Retirement 

System or the Police Officer Retirement System shall receive service credit for no more 
than 90 days of his unused sick leave at no cost to the employee.  The leave must be credited 
at a rate where 20 days of unused sick leave equals one month of service.  This additional 
service credit may not be used to qualify for retirement. 

 
B. Reduction in Force Rights - An employee who is reinstated within one year of the date of 

separation shall have his sick leave restored.  (Refer to Section 19-720.04 B. 4. d.) 
 
C. Up to Six Month Exception to Break in Service - An employee who has received prior 

approval for an extension to the 15-day break in service shall have his sick leave restored 
if transferred or appointed to another FTE position within the approved time period.  (Refer 
to Section 19-720.01 B. 2. (Exception).)  

 
19-710.07 RECORDS 

 
The agency shall maintain all sick leave records for each employee eligible for sick leave.   
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19-711 LEAVE TRANSFER PROGRAM 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the manner in which employees in FTE positions may voluntarily 
donate sick or annual leave into a leave transfer pool for use by other employees, who have 
been approved as leave recipients under medical emergency circumstances.   

 
19-711.01 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY 

 
A. Each agency shall establish two separate leave transfer pool accounts, a sick leave transfer 

pool and an annual leave transfer pool. 
 

B. Records and Forms 
 

Each agency shall maintain the following records: 
 
1. Donation Request Form - The Donation Request Form shall include: 

 
a. The employee's name; 

 
b. The employing agency; 

 
c. The employee's State title; 
 
d. The employee's hourly rate of pay; 
 
e. The number of days/hours of the leave donor's earned sick or annual leave; 
 
f. The number of days/hours of sick or annual leave the employee wishes to donate 

to the appropriate leave transfer pool; 
 
g. The date of the donation; and 
 
h. The leave donor's signature. 

 
2. Recipient Request Form - The Recipient Request Form shall include: 

 
a. The employee's name; 
 
b. The employing agency; 
 
c. The employee's State title; 
 
d. The employee's hourly rate of pay; and 
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e. A brief description of the nature, severity, and anticipated duration of the medical, 
family, or other hardship situation affecting the employee. 

 
3. Leave Restoration Form - The Leave Restoration Form shall include: 

 
a. The name of the leave recipient; 
 
b. The type of leave transferred (sick or annual); 
 
c. The amount of transferred leave used; 
 
d. The date the leave recipient's medical emergency or employment terminates; and 
 
e. The amount of transferred leave (sick or annual) being restored to the respective 

pool. 
 
19-711.02 ANNUAL REPORTING 
 

Each agency having any donation or approved requests for leave transfer in a calendar year 
shall submit the following information to the DSHR: 

 
A. Sick Leave - Total hours and cost of: 

 
1. Sick leave donated; 
 
2. Sick leave used by recipient(s); and 
 
3. Sick leave restored, if any. 

 
B. Annual Leave - Total hours and cost of: 

 
1. Annual leave donated; 
 
2. Annual leave used by recipient(s); and 
 
3. Annual leave restored, if any. 

 
C. Any additional information requested by DSHR needed to evaluate the desirability, 

feasibility, and cost of the leave transfer program. 
 
19-711.03 ELIGIBILITY TO DONATE 
 

A. An employee donating sick or annual leave to either the sick or annual leave transfer pool 
must do so prior to the end of the calendar year.   

 
B. An employee may donate no more than one-half of the sick or annual leave he earns within 
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a calendar year to the appropriate pool leave account for that calendar year. 
 

C. An employee’s leave, once transferred to a pool account, must not be restored or returned 
to the leave donor. 

 
D. Sick Leave - An employee with more than 15 days in his sick leave account may transfer 

sick leave to the agency’s sick leave pool if he retains a minimum of 15 days in his own 
sick leave account.  An employee with less than 15 days in his sick leave account may not 
transfer any sick leave to the agency's sick leave pool. 

 
E. Annual Leave - An employee may voluntarily request by completing the employing 

agency's Donation Request Form, that a specified number of hours of his earned annual 
leave be transferred from his annual leave account to his employing agency's annual leave 
transfer pool. 

 
19-711.04 REQUEST FOR LEAVE 

 
A. An employee with a medical emergency may request sick or annual leave from the 

appropriate pool account by completing the employing agency's Recipient Request Form.  
While there is no limit to the number of separate requests that an employee may submit to 
the employing agency, each separate request shall be limited to no more than 30 workdays. 
 

B. An employee must have exhausted all available leave to qualify for the leave transfer 
program. 
 

C. An employee must have been in leave without pay for at least 30 working days or 
documentation must certify a medical emergency will result in an employee being in leave 
without pay status for 30 working days. 

 
19-711.05 LEAVE APPROVAL 

 
Under guidelines established by the Department of Administration, the agency head of the 
employing agency may, upon receiving a completed request, review all necessary information 
and approve recipients from within the agency to participate in the leave transfer program.  
Unless the personal emergency involves a medical condition affecting the leave recipients, the 
employing agency may consider the likely impact on morale and efficiency within the agency 
in approving a leave recipient to use transferred leave. 

 
19-711.06 NO ADMINISTRATIVE OR JUDICIAL APPEAL 

 
The decisions of the agency head of the employing agency are final, and there is no 
administrative or judicial appeal of the decisions. 
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19-711.07 USE OF SICK OR ANNUAL LEAVE 
 

A. Leave taken under this Section may qualify for the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
and, if so, will run concurrently. 

 
B. Under guidelines established by the Department of Administration, the employing agency 

may transfer all or any portion of the sick leave in the pool account to the sick leave account 
of the leave recipient, and all or any portion of the annual leave in the pool account to the 
annual leave account of the leave recipient. 
 

C. Upon approval of a request, an employee may use sick or annual leave from the appropriate 
pool account in the same manner and for the same purposes as if the employee had earned 
the leave in the manner provided by law. 

 
D. Sick or annual leave earned by the leave recipient must be used before using any leave 

from a leave transfer pool. 
 

E. Sick or annual leave transferred under this program may be substituted retroactively for 
periods of leave without pay or used to liquidate indebtedness for advanced sick leave. 

 
19-711.08 WHEN MEDICAL EMERGENCY TERMINATES 

 
A. The medical emergency affecting a leave recipient terminates when either the employing 

agency determines that the medical emergency no longer exists or either the leave recipient 
separates from employment. 

 
B. The employing agency shall monitor continuously the status of the medical emergency 

affecting the leave recipient and establish procedures to ensure that the leave recipient is 
not permitted to receive, or use transferred sick or annual leave from a pool account after 
the personal emergency terminates. 

 
C. When the medical emergency terminates, the employing agency may not grant further 

requests for transfer of leave to the leave recipient's leave account.  When the medical 
emergency affecting a leave recipient terminates, any transferred sick or annual leave 
remaining must be restored to the appropriate pool account by completing a Leave 
Restoration Form. 

 
19-711.09 SEPARATION FROM EMPLOYMENT 

 
Transferred sick or annual leave from a pool account remaining when the leave recipient 
separates from employment must be restored to the appropriate pool account by the completion 
of a Leave Restoration Form.  Upon separation from employment, transferred leave from a 
pool account must not be transferred to another employee, included in a lump sum payment 
for earned leave, or included in the leave recipient's total service for retirement computation 
purposes. 
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19-712 OTHER LEAVE PROGRAMS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation governs the leave programs, other than annual and sick leave and holidays. 
 

19.712.01 OTHER LEAVE TYPES 
 
Leave taken under this Section may qualify as Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave 
and, if so, will run concurrently. 

 
A. Administrative Leave 

 
State employees in full-time equivalent (FTE) positions who are physically attacked while 
in the performance of official duties and suffer bodily harm as a result of the attack must 
be placed on administrative leave with pay by their employers rather than sick leave.  The 
period of administrative leave for each incident may not exceed 180 calendar days.  Denial 
of the use of administrative leave by the agency will be grounds for review by the Division 
of State Human Resources (DSHR) upon request of the employee.  Administrative review 
by DSHR will be final. 

 
B. American Red Cross Certified Disaster Service Leave 

 
A state employee who is a certified disaster service volunteer for the American Red Cross 
may use up to 10 days of paid leave in a calendar year to participate in specialized disaster 
relief services with the approval of the agency designee.   
 

C. Blood Drive and Donation Leave 
 

1. Agencies may periodically arrange volunteer blood drives for their employees.  The 
blood drives may be held at the times and places as may be determined by the agency 
head.  The agency’s employees are permitted to participate in the blood drive during 
their work hours without using sick and annual leave. 
 

2. An employee desiring to donate blood at a time, other than an agency arranged 
volunteer blood drive, must be excused from work by his agency during the employee's 
regular work hours for the purpose of making the donation without prejudice to the 
employee and no leave or makeup time may be required.  Any employee desiring to 
donate blood as provided in Section 8-11-175 of the South Carolina Code of Laws shall 
notify his agency of the scheduled donation and the amount of time needed for the 
donation as far in advance as may be practicable.  The agency may deny the employee's 
request for time to donate if the absence of the employee would create an extraordinary 
burden on the agency.  In considering the employee's request, the agency shall take into 
consideration such factors as the necessity and type of blood donation, and any other 
factor the agency considers appropriate.  The agency may, as condition of approving 
the request, require the employee to provide documentation of the donation. 
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D. Bone Marrow Donor Leave 

 
All employees who works an average of 20 hours or more a week and who seeks to undergo 
a medical procedure to donate bone marrow may be granted bone marrow donor leave with 
pay.  The total amount of paid leave may not exceed 40 work hours unless a longer length 
of time is approved by the agency head.  Such leave may require verification by a health 
care practitioner of the purpose and length of each request.  If a medical determination 
finds that the employee does not qualify as a bone marrow donor, the paid leave of absence 
granted to the employee before that medical determination is not forfeited.  Pursuant to 
Section 44-43-80 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, all employees are 
covered under this section. 

 
E. Court Leave 

 
1. Jury Duty (With Pay) 

 
a. An employee, who is summoned as a member of a jury panel, shall be granted court 

leave with pay.  Any jury fees and travel payment shall be retained by the employee.  
This court leave with pay shall not apply to agencies whose employees are exempt 
from jury duty by law. 

 
b. An employee, who is excused from jury duty and was not required to be at court 

the number of hours equal to the employee’s workday, is required to return to the 
job according to arrangements between the employee and the agency designee.  The 
employee must be on authorized leave for any time the employee is excused from 
jury duty and does not return to work. 

 
c. An employee who is summoned to jury duty will be required to work on any given 

day only the number of hours that equal the employee’s work schedule, minus the 
hours required to be at court. 

 
2. Subpoenaed as a Witness (With Pay) 
 

An employee, who is subpoenaed as a witness and who will not receive any personal 
gain from the outcome of the litigation, shall be entitled to court leave with pay for 
those hours required for the subpoena and may retain any witness fee and travel 
expenses. 
 

3. An employee, who is victim of or witness to a crime and must attend court in relation 
to the case or in order to obtain an Order of Protection or restraining order, shall receive 
court leave with pay. 

 
 
4. Exceptions 
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a. An employee engaged in personal litigation is not eligible for court leave with pay 
but may be granted annual leave or leave without pay with appropriate 
authorization. 

 
b. When an employee is subpoenaed to represent an agency as a witness or defendant, 

his appearance is considered work time.  The employee shall be reimbursed for any 
meals, lodging, and travel expenses that may be incurred according to the rules and 
regulations as provided by the Office of the Comptroller General. 

 
c. When an employee attends, in an official capacity, a mediation or mediation-

arbitration conference, his attendance is considered a part of the employee’s job 
assignment. 

 
d. When an employee appears as a witness or in any other official capacity in a hearing 

before the State Employee Grievance Committee, his appearance is considered a 
part of the employee’s job assignment. 

 
F. Death in Immediate Family Leave 

 
1. An employee, upon request, shall be granted up to three consecutive workdays of leave 

with pay on the death of any member of the employee's immediate family.  Immediate 
family is defined as the spouse, great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, legal 
guardians, brothers, spouse of brothers, sisters, spouse of sisters, children, spouse of 
children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren of either the employee or the spouse. 

 
2. The agency may request that an employee requesting leave for a death in the immediate 

family provide a statement to the appropriate authority listing the name of the deceased 
and the relationship to the deceased. 

 
G. Extended Disability Leave 
 

Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the Americans with Disabilities Act 
Amendments Act (ADAAA), and other applicable law, certain extended impairments may 
be protected as disabilities and may require reasonable accommodation.  In certain cases, 
the use of leave may be considered a reasonable accommodation.  Determinations 
regarding reasonable accommodations should be made on a case-by-case basis as dictated 
by the circumstances. 
 
The agency shall require, prior to approval of leave as a reasonable accommodation, 
certification by the health care practitioner to a reasonable degree of medical certainty to 
include at a minimum: (a) the date on which the disability commenced; (b) the probable 
duration of the condition and a probable return date; and (c) appropriate medical facts 
within the knowledge of the health care practitioner regarding the condition and any work 
limitations.  Dates set forth in the health care practitioner’s certificate may be amended.  
The agency may require additional documentation from the health care practitioner issuing 
the certificate or may secure additional medical opinions from other health care 
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practitioners.  If an employee’s health care practitioner or the employee identifies a 
disability as long-term, the agency may suggest to the employee to contact the Public 
Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA) as soon as possible to evaluate eligibility for any 
appropriate benefits, such as insurance or retirement, if the employee believes it would be 
appropriate. 
 

H. Family and Medical Leave Guidelines 
 

For more detailed information, consult the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and 
relevant federal regulations.  By interpretation of the United States Department of Labor, 
State government is considered to be one employer for the purpose of determining FMLA 
leave.  

 
1. Eligibility and Reasons for FMLA Leave 

 
a. Family Medical Leave Act leave shall be granted to any employee who has worked 

for the State at least 12 months, and who has worked at least 1,250 hours (defined 
as FLSA compensable hours of work) during the 12-month period prior to the 
request for FMLA leave, including "on-call" hours.  The required total of 12 months 
of employment need not be consecutive.  An agency can go back 7 years prior to 
the date of the need for leave to determine if the employee worked a total of 12 
months with state government.  An agency has the ability to go beyond 7 years if 
an employee left state employment due to National Guard or Reserve Military 
obligations or a written agreement reflecting an employer's intention to rehire after 
a break.   

 
In order to determine if an exempt employee meets the 1,250 hours of service, work 
records may be kept. 

 
b. An eligible employee shall be granted up to a total of 12 weeks of FMLA leave, in 

each calendar year, for any of the following reasons: 
 

(1) For the birth of a son or daughter and to care for that child; 
 
(2) For placement of a son or daughter for adoption or foster care with the 

employee;  
 
(3) For caring of the employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious 

health condition; and 
 
(4) For a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the 

functions of the employee's job. 
 
(5) For qualifying exigencies arising out of the fact that the employee’s spouse, 

son, daughter, or parent is on active duty or called to active duty status as a 
member for the National Guard or Reserves in support of a contingency 



State Human Resources Regulations 

78 
 

operation.  Qualifying exigencies can include: 1) short notice deployment; 2) 
military events and related activities; 3) childcare and school activities; 4) 
financial and legal arrangements; 5) counseling; 6) rest and recuperation; 7) 
post- deployment activities; and 8) additional activities not encompassed in 
other categories but agreed by the agency and the employee. 

 
Note:  Reasons (1) and (2) for leave expires 12 months after the date of the birth or 
placement. 
 

c. Under the military caregiver leave provisions, an eligible employee who is a 
spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a current member of the Armed 
Forces, including a member of the National Guard or Reserves, with a serious injury 
or illness may be able to take up to a total of 26 workweeks in a single 12-month 
period to care for the service member.  

 
2. Scheduling FMLA Leave 

 
An eligible employee requesting FMLA leave must give 30 days advance notice to the 
employing agency of the need to take FMLA leave when the need for leave is 
foreseeable.  When the need for leave is not foreseeable, such notice must be given as 
soon as practical.  The use of FMLA leave shall be subject to verification.  The agency 
may require documentation or certification from a health care provider supporting the 
need for FMLA leave for a serious health condition.  Agencies may also require 
documentation for certification of serious health condition of a spouse, son, or 
daughter, a qualifying exigency or to confirm familial relationships.  

 
3. Use of FMLA Leave 

 
The agency is responsible for declaring leave as FMLA leave based on information 
provided by the employee. 

 
a. When the agency designates leave as FMLA leave, it must notify the employee.  

No leave may be designated as FMLA leave after the leave has ended, except as 
provided for under the FMLA. 

 
b. Use of FMLA leave shall be calculated by either the actual time or in the smallest 

amount of increments an agency will allow. 
 
c. The agency should declare any leave taken that qualifies as FMLA leave.  The 

FMLA leave should run concurrently with any other leave, and the leave should be 
charged against the appropriate leave balances. 

 
4. Use of Paid and Unpaid Leave 

 
Generally, FMLA leave is unpaid; however, 
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a. An eligible employee will be required to substitute his accrued sick leave, parental 
leave or adoption leave for unpaid FMLA leave when the FMLA leave request 
qualifies for sick leave, parental leave or adoption leave usage. 

 
b. An eligible employee may elect to substitute accrued annual leave, compensatory 

time and holiday compensatory time for unpaid FMLA leave. 
 

5. FMLA Leave Record 
 

A leave record shall be maintained by the employing agency for each employee subject 
to the provisions of the FMLA.  Such record shall: 

 
a. Reflect the maximum FMLA leave allowance (12 weeks in a calendar year) and 

charges in terms of hours. 
 
b. Indicate the number of FMLA leave hours used in the current calendar year. 
 
c. Indicate the number of hours in the employee's established workweek. 

 
6. Transfer of FMLA Leave 

 
For an eligible employee who transfers from one agency to another, the transferring 
agency is responsible for transferring the employee's FMLA leave records in that 
calendar year to the receiving agency. 

 
I. Hazardous Weather and Emergency Leave 

 
When the Governor declares a state of emergency or orders all or some state offices closed 
due to hazardous weather conditions, the Governor may issue an executive order 
authorizing up to five days of paid leave for those employees who did not work due to the 
state of emergency or hazardous weather.  

 
When the Governor does not provide State employees with paid leave, an employee who 
does not report to work, who reports late to work, or is dismissed early from work due to a 
state of emergency or hazardous weather conditions shall use annual leave, compensatory 
time or leave without pay to cover the hours scheduled but not worked. Agencies must also 
give employees the option to make up the hours at a time set by the agency. 

 
J. Leave of Absence 

 
To grant any leave of absence with or without pay, the agency must approve the leave of 
absence.  An employee who is granted leave of absence with or without pay shall be:   
 
1. An employee of the State while on such leave; and 

 
2. Returned to the same position, or one in a comparable pay band for which the employee 
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is qualified. 
 

Any leave of absence must be approved in advance except in case of medical or personal 
emergencies.  These situations must be justified to the agency head or his designee for 
approval. 

  
K. Military Leave (Cross reference FMLA.  Refer to Section 19-712.01 L. on qualifying 

exigencies.) 
 

1. Short Term Military Training 
 

All officers and employees of this State or a political subdivision of this State, who are 
either enlisted or commissioned members of the South Carolina National Guard, the 
United States Army Reserve, the United States Air Force Reserve, the United States 
Naval Reserve, the United States Marine Corps Reserve, or the United States Coast 
Guard Reserve are entitled to leaves of absence from their respective duties without loss 
of pay, time, or efficiency rating, for one or more periods not exceeding an aggregate of 
15 regularly scheduled workdays in any one year during which they may be engaged in 
training or any other duties ordered by the Governor, the Department of Defense, the 
Department of the Army, the Department of the Air Force, the Department of the Navy, 
the Department of the Treasury, or any other department or agency of the government 
of the United States having authority to issue lawful orders requiring military service.  
Saturdays, Sundays, and State holidays may not be included in the 15-day aggregate 
unless the particular Saturday, Sunday, or holiday to be included is a regularly scheduled 
workday for the officer or employee involved.  In the event any such person is called 
upon to serve during an emergency, he is entitled to such leave of absence for a period 
not exceeding 30 additional days.  Any one year means either a calendar year or, in the 
case of members required to perform active duty for training or other duties within or 
on a fiscal year basis, the fiscal year of the National Guard or reserve component issuing 
the orders.   
 
A state employee in a full-time position who serves on active duty in a combat zone 
and who has exhausted all available leave for military purposes is entitled to receive 
up to thirty additional workdays of military leave in any one year.  

 
2. Long Term Military Leave of Absence 
 

Every employee of the State or any political subdivision thereof who, has been, or shall 
be commissioned, enlisted, or selected for service in the Armed Forces of the United 
States (excluding short term training) shall, so long as the requirements and regulations 
of the Armed Forces shall prevent his return to his civil employment for a period of 90 
days thereafter, but in no event for a period longer than five years from the date of entry 
into the Armed Forces of the United States, be entitled to leave of absence from his 
duties as an employee of the State or any political subdivision thereof, without loss of 
seniority or efficiency or register ratings.  The word "employee" as used herein shall 
not be construed to mean an officer or official elected or appointed to a term pursuant 
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to a statute or the Constitution of this State. 
 

L. Organ Donor Leave  
 

1. All officers and employees of this State or a political subdivision of this State who wish 
to be an organ donor and who accrue annual or sick leave as part of their employment 
are entitled to leaves of absence from their respective duties without loss of pay, time, 
leave, or efficiency rating for one or more periods not exceeding an aggregate of thirty 
regularly scheduled workdays in any one calendar year during which they may engage 
in the donation of their organs. Saturdays, Sundays, and state holidays may not be 
included in the thirty-day aggregate unless the particular Saturday, Sunday, or holiday 
to be included is a regularly scheduled workday for the officer or employee involved. 

 
2. The officer or employee must show documentation from the attending physician of the 

proposed organ donation before leave is approved that confirms that the employee is 
the donor. 
 

M. Paid Parental Leave 
 

Eligibility determinations are made as of the date to the birth, adoption, or foster care 
placement. 

 
An eligible state employee shall receive no more than one occurrence of six or two weeks 
of paid parental leave for any twelve-month period, even if more than one qualifying event 
occurs. 

 
If the leave is not used by the eligible employee before the end of the twelve-month period 
after the birth, adoption or foster placement, such leave does not accumulate for subsequent 
use.  Paid parental leave may not be donated.  Any leave remaining at the end of the twelve-
month period or at separation of employment is forfeited. 

 
Paid parental leave must run concurrently with leave taken pursuant to the Family Medical 
Leave Act and any other unpaid leave to which the eligible state employee may be entitled 
to as a result of the qualifying event. 

 
Employees do not have to exhaust all other forms of leave before being eligible to take 
paid parental leave.  Eligible state employees shall accrue annual and sick leave at the 
normal rate while on this leave, if applicable. 

 
If both parents are eligible state employees, paid parental leave may be taken concurrently, 
consecutively, or at a different time as the other eligible state employee.  No child may 
have more than two parents eligible for paid parental leave. 

 
1. Adoption Leave 

 
a. Employees occupying all or part of an FTE position and who are primarily 
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responsible furnishing the care and nurture of their child under the age of 18 legally 
placed for adoption on or after October 1, 2022, are entitled to six weeks of paid 
parental leave. 

 
b. Employees occupying all or part of an FTE position and who are not primarily 

responsible for finishing the care and nurture of the child under the age of 18 legally 
placed for adoption on or after October 1, 2022, are entitled to two weeks of paid 
parental leave. 

 
c. The entitlement to parental leave expires at the end of the twelve-month period 

beginning on the date of the original placement. 
 

d. Days of parental leave for adoption must be taken consecutively.  
 

2. Birth of a Child 
 
a. Employees occupying all or part of an FTE position and who give birth to a child on 

or after October 1, 2022, are entitled to six weeks of paid parental leave. 
  

b. Employees occupying all or part of a position and whose co-parent gives birth to a 
child are entitled to receive two weeks of parental leave. 

 
c. The entitlement to parental leave expires at the end of the twelve-month period 

beginning on the date of the birth. 
 

d. Days of parental leave for the birth of a child must be taken consecutively. 
 

3. Foster Care 
 

a. Employees occupying all or part of an FTE positions and who foster a child under 
the age of 18 in state custody are entitled to receive two weeks of paid parental leave. 
 

b. The entitlement to parental leave expires at the end of the twelve-month period 
beginning on the date of placement of the child. 

 
c. Foster parents may request and receive approval for parental leave to be taken in 

nonconsecutive one-week time periods.  
 

N. Sabbatical Leave 
 
When provided in statute, an institution of higher learning may establish a policy for a 
leave of absence for a sabbatical for academic personnel. 
 

O. State Employee Grievances and Appeals Attendance 
 

Refer to Section 19-712.01 F.4. c. and d. 
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P. Voting Leave 

 
There is no state or federal law mandating that employers give time off to employees to 
vote. Agencies have discretion to authorize employees up to two hours of leave with pay 
for extenuating circumstances that prohibit employees from voting when the polls are open. 
For example, when an employee is scheduled to work a twelve-hour shift on election day 
or is assigned to a work location too far away from the employee’s residence as to preclude 
voting outside work hours.  To work at the polls during elections, an employee must be on 
authorized leave. 
 

Q. Volunteer Work 
 
Time spent as a volunteer is not included in hours worked.  An employee who performs 
hours of service for a public agency for civic, charitable, or humanitarian reasons, without 
promise, expectation or receipt of compensation for services rendered, is considered to be 
a volunteer during such hours. An employee shall not be considered a volunteer if the 
employee is otherwise employed by the same public agency to perform the same type of 
servicers as those for which the employee proposes to volunteer.  An employee may be 
paid expenses, reasonable benefits, a nominal fee, or any combinations thereof, for their 
service without losing status as volunteers. Determining if the receipt of expenses, benefits or 
fees would result in loss of volunteer status is a case-by-case analysis based on the total amount 
of expenses, benefits, and fees in the context of the economic realities of the situation.  
  

R. Workers' Compensation Leave 
 

1. If there is an accidental injury arising out of and in the course of employment with the 
State, which is covered under Workers' Compensation, an employee who is not eligible 
for or who has exhausted his paid administrative leave, shall make an election to use 
either earned leave time (sick or annual or both) or Workers’ Compensation benefits 
awarded in accordance with Title 42 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 
 

2. The employee shall make an election under one of the following options: 
 

a. To use sick leave, annual leave, or both.  When earned leave is exhausted before 
the employee can return to work, the employee shall be entitled to Workers' 
Compensation benefits at the time leave is exhausted; 

 
b. To use Workers' Compensation benefits awarded in accordance with Title 42 of the 

South Carolina Code of Laws; or 
 

c. To use sick leave, annual leave, or both on a prorated basis in conjunction with 
Workers' Compensation benefits according to the formula approved by the 
Department of Administration. 

 
3. Before the election is made, the effect of each available option on the employee's future 

leave earnings must be explained to the employee by the employing agency.  The 



State Human Resources Regulations 

84 
 

election must be in writing and signed by the employee and the person who explains 
the options.  The election of the employee is irrevocable as to each individual incident. 

 
4. Regardless of which option an employee elects, he would continue to be eligible for 

payment of medical costs provided by the State Accident Fund. 
 

19-712.02 OTHER LEAVE RECORDS 
 

A. The agency shall maintain all leave records for each employee eligible for such leave.  
Such records must include the number of leave hours used during the current calendar 
year. 
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19-713 DUAL EMPLOYMENT 
 
SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs how employees in FTE positions may accept additional temporary, 
part-time employment with the same or another agency. 

 
19-713.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 

 
A. General Provisions 

 
1. In accordance with this Regulation, agencies may develop internal dual employment 

policies. 
 
2. Dual employment shall be limited in duration to the specific time frame approved 

which cannot exceed 12 months. 
 
3. The practice of dual employment should not be used to provide higher continuing 

salaries than those approved by the Department of Administration.  An employee 
engaged in dual employment shall satisfy the requirements of the established hours of 
work for the primary agency. 

 
4. No agency head may be dually employed by another agency or institution of higher 

education without prior approval by the Agency Head Salary Commission and the 
Department of Administration. 
 

B. Approval of Dual Employment 
 
1. The agency heads or their designees of the primary and secondary agencies are 

responsible for approving dual employment requests prior to the beginning of the dual 
employment relationship. 

 
2. Because the secondary agency is responsible for coordinating dual employment 

arrangements, the secondary agency will coordinate the approval and any 
modifications of the dual employment request with the primary agency. 

 
3. The primary agency should process dual employment requests in a timely manner. 
 
4. Dual Employment within the same agency must be approved by the Division of State 

Human Resources prior to implementation. 
 

C. Scheduling Dual Employment 
 
1. Dual Employment Between Two Agencies 

 
Ordinarily, an employee's work schedule with the primary agency should not be altered 
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or revised to provide time to perform dual employment duties for the secondary agency.  
However, an employee may be permitted to use annual leave or leave without pay to 
provide services during working hours for a secondary agency and may receive 
compensation from the secondary agency for services performed during the period of 
leave. 

 
2. Dual Employment Within an Agency 
 

An employee who performs services during other than normally scheduled hours of 
work for his primary agency may be considered to be performing dual employment and 
be paid additional compensation, if such services constitute independent, additional job 
duties from those of the employee's primary duties within the agency.  No employee 
shall receive any additional compensation from the primary agency while in a leave 
with pay status to include all designated State holidays, annual leave, and compensatory 
time.  Dual employment within the same agency should only exist when extraordinary 
circumstances exist based on the agency’s business needs and must be approved by the 
Division of State Human Resources.   
 

D. Compensation for Dual Employment 
 

1. No compensation for dual employment shall be paid to an employee prior to the 
approval of a dual employment agreement. 
 

2. Both the primary agency and the secondary agency must comply with the provisions 
of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). 

 
3. Compensation for dual employment will be determined by the secondary agency; 

however, the maximum compensation that an employee will be authorized to receive 
for dual employment in a fiscal year shall not exceed 30% of the employee's 
annualized salary with the employing agency for that fiscal year.  The primary agency 
is responsible for ensuring that dual employment payments made to its employees 
within one fiscal year do not exceed the 30% limitation.  The Division of State Human 
Resources (DSHR) is authorized to approve exceptions to the 30% limitation based 
on written justification submitted by the agency. 

 
4. Payment of dual employment compensation shall be made in a timely manner.  The 

secondary agency must make payment of funds approved for and earned under dual 
employment within 45 days of the beginning of the employment. 
 

5. No employee shall be eligible for any additional fringe benefits as a result of dual 
employment, including but not limited to annual leave, sick leave, military leave, State 
insurance, and holidays.  However, dual employment compensation shall be subject 
to such tax and retirement deductions as required. 

 
E. Dual Employment Recordkeeping 
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1. All dual employment requests must be in writing and contain the following 
information: 

 
a. Name of secondary agency; 
 
b. Description of services to be performed, beginning and ending dates of the dual 

employment, hours of work, and the FLSA status of the work to be performed for 
the secondary agency; 

 
c. Name of primary agency; 

 
d. Name of employee, State title of the employee’s position, the FLSA status of the 

employee’s position at the primary agency, present annualized salary of employee, 
and scheduled hours of work at the primary agency; 

 
e. Amount and terms of compensation, if applicable; and 
 
f. Signature of the agency heads or their designees, of both the secondary and the 

primary agencies, authorizing the dual employment as well as the signature of the 
employee. 

 
2. For each dual employment arrangement, both the primary and secondary agency must 

maintain the written dual employment request.  When the dual employment is within 
the same agency, that agency must maintain a written dual employment request for 
each dual employment arrangement. 
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19-714 GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES INTERCHANGE PROGRAM 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the authority of DSHR for administering an interchange program for 
government employees in FTE positions to facilitate short term assignments between or among 
federal, state, or local governments. 

 
19-714.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Department of Administration has delegated to the State Human Resources Director 
the authority to administer an Interchange of Government Employees Program as provided 
in Section 8-12-60 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.   

 
B. Agencies should refer to the Government Employees Interchange Program guidelines 

developed by DSHR for instructions on preparing an interchange agreement. 
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19-715 EMPLOYEE PERFORMANCE EVALUATION SYSTEMS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the establishment and administration of employee performance 
evaluation systems for employees. 

 
19-715.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY  
 

A. The Division of State Human Resources (DSHR) shall develop an EPMS model policy to 
assist an agency in its policy development.  The Division of State Human Resources must 
review and approve each agency’s EPMS policy which includes a Substandard 
Performance process. 
 

B. Each agency shall develop an Employee Performance Management System that functions 
as an effective management tool within the agency, supports continuous communication 
between supervisors and employees, and provides a sound process for the evaluation of the 
performance and productivity of its employees.   
 

C. Teaching and research faculty, professional librarians, academic administrators, and all 
other persons holding faculty appointments at post-secondary educational institutions, 
including any branch campuses, shall not be covered by these Regulations but shall be 
governed by Section 8-17-380 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

 
D. An employee or an employee whose position is exempt from the State Employee Grievance 

Procedure Act is also exempt from the Employee Performance Management System.  
However, these employees may be given annual performance evaluations. 

 
E. The State Human Resources Director shall have the authority to make exceptions to these 

Regulations consistent with federal, State and local laws. 
 

19-715.02 ESTABLISHING AND MAINTAINING PERFORMANCE REVIEW DATES  
 

A. A performance review date is the first day which marks the beginning of a new review 
period.  If an employee does not receive a performance evaluation prior to the performance 
review date, the employee shall receive a “meets performance requirements” rating by 
default. 

 
B. In Probationary Status (Refer to Section 19-704.) 
 

1. Upon initial employment or reemployment, the performance review date shall be 
established as:   

 
a. Twelve months from the date of an initial employment or reemployment; 
 
b. The academic year for instructional personnel; or  
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c. Not more than two full academic years duration for faculty at State technical 

colleges. 
 

2. The performance review date for a probationary employee who is promoted, demoted, 
reclassified, experiences an unclassified State title change, or is reassigned or 
transferred to a new class or unclassified State title shall be established as: 

 
a. Twelve months from the date of the promotion, demotion, reclassification, or 

reassignment or transfer to a new class or unclassified State title change for non-
instructional personnel;  

 
b. The academic year duration from the date of the promotion, demotion, 

reclassification, or reassignment or transfer to a new class or unclassified State title 
for teachers; or 

 
c. Not more than two full academic years duration from the date of the promotion, 

demotion, unclassified State title change, or reassignment or transfer to another 
unclassified State title for faculty at State technical colleges. 

 
3. Exception - At the discretion of the agency head or his designee, up to six months of 

continuous satisfactory service in the previous class or unclassified State title may be 
counted toward the probationary period in the new class or unclassified State title which 
would result in a reduction in the length of the employee’s performance review period. 

 
C. In Trial Status (Refer to Section 19-704.) 
 

1. A covered employee who is promoted, demoted, reclassified, reassigned, or transferred 
to a position or experiences an unclassified State title change in which he has not held 
permanent status in the class or unclassified State title shall have the performance 
review date reestablished six months from the date of the action. Exception: If the 
employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 
  

2. An employee who is in a trial status and has had the trial period extended shall have 
the performance review date advanced up to 90 calendar days for the time period such 
extension is in effect.  Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the 
time this version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not 
serve a trial period. 
 

3. Exception - An employee who is promoted and, prior to attaining permanent status in 
the class with a higher State salary range, or unclassified State title having a higher 
State salary range or higher level job duties or responsibilities, is demoted to the same 
class or unclassified State title from which promoted, shall retain the original 
performance review date established in the class with a lower State salary range, or 
unclassified State title having a lower State salary range or lower level job duties or 
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responsibilities. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this 
version of the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a 
trial period. 

 
D. Covered Employees with Permanent Status in the Class or Unclassified State Title 
 

If a covered employee with permanent status in the class or unclassified State title is 
promoted, demoted, reclassified; experiences an unclassified State title change; or is 
reassigned or transferred to a new class or unclassified State title in which the employee 
has previously completed a probationary or trial period, the employee retains permanent 
status in the class or unclassified State title and is not placed in a probationary or trial status.  
Instead, the employee’s performance review date is reestablished six months from the date 
of the promotion, demotion, reclassification, reassignment, or transfer. 
 

E. A covered employee's performance review date shall be changed for the following reasons: 
 
1. If an employee is on approved leave with or without pay for more than 30 consecutive 

workdays, the employee’s performance review date may be advanced up to 90 days. If 
an employee does not return to work by the advanced review date, the employee shall 
receive a successful by default rating and the review date shall be re-established based 
on policy. 

 
2. An employee who receives a “Performance Improvement Plan,” may have the 

performance review date advanced to coincide with the “Performance Improvement 
Plan” dates. 

 
3. An employee’s performance review date may be adjusted due to promotions, 

demotions, reclassifications, reassignments, transfers, or unclassified State title 
changes, as provided in Section 19-715. Exception: This paragraph does not apply 
unless the employee is serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective. 

 
4. An employee who transfers to a position in the same class in another agency or is 

reassigned to a position in the same class and agency within six months or less of his 
review date shall have the performance review date advanced six months from the date 
of the transfer or reassignment. Exception: This paragraph does not apply unless the 
employee is serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations becomes 
effective. 

 
5. An employee’s performance review date may be adjusted when an agency adopts a 

universal performance review date in its written EPMS policy. 
 
6. An employee, who is promoted or reclassified upward, and prior to attaining permanent 

status in the class with a higher State salary range or in the unclassified State title having 
a higher State salary range or higher level of job duties or responsibilities, and is 
demoted or reclassified downward to the same class or unclassified State title from 
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which promoted or reclassified upward, shall retain the original performance review 
date established in the class with a lower State salary range or unclassified State title 
having a lower State salary range or lower level of job duties or responsibilities. 
Exception: This paragraph does not apply unless the employee is serving a trial period 
at the time this version of the Regulations becomes effective. 

 
F. A covered employee’s performance review date shall not be changed for the following 

reasons: 
 
1. When a class is reallocated, an employee in that class shall not have the performance 

review date reestablished. 
 

2. An employee who receives an in-band increase or decrease within the current class 
shall not have the performance review date reestablished. 

 
19-715.03 ESTABLISHING AND MAINTAINING PERFORMANCE REVIEW DATES 
FOR EMPLOYEES IN THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION SYSTEM 
 

A. For Employees Covered by the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act 
 

Upon completion of a probationary or trial period, the performance review date of a 
covered employee in the Executive Compensation System shall be reestablished on July 1. 
Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the 
Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period. 

 
B. Employees Exempt From Coverage by the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act 

 
Annual performance evaluations shall be completed by July 1 for employees in the 
Executive Compensation System who are exempt from coverage by the State Employee 
Grievance Procedure Act.  Such employees do not serve a probationary period or a trial 
period. 
 

C. Exception – The performance review date for the above categories of employees shall be 
July 1, unless the agency adopts a universal performance review date in its written EPMS 
policy. 

 
19-715.04 ESTABLISHING AND MAINTAINING PERFORMANCE REVIEW DATES 
FOR AGENCY HEADS 

 
Annual performance evaluations shall be completed by July 1 for agency heads. 
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19-716 STAFF DEVELOPMENT AND TRAINING 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE  
 

This Regulation governs staff development and training programs for agencies’ employees but 
does not affect sabbatical leave for academic personnel. 

 
19-716.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 

 
A. An agency may sponsor training for employees to improve or secure those skills necessary 

for the efficient and effective operations of the agency and to ensure uniformity in the 
administration of staff development and training programs throughout the State service. 

 
B. The agency head or his designee shall be responsible for the administration of staff 

development and training within the agency. 
 
19-716.02 EDUCATIONAL LEAVE 
 

An employee is encouraged to schedule classes during off-duty hours, whenever possible.  
When a class cannot be scheduled during off-duty hours, the agency may adjust the employee's 
work schedule, if doing so will not interfere with normal efficient operations of the agency.  
When a class cannot be scheduled during off-duty hours, and the agency does not adjust the 
work schedule of an employee, at the discretion of the agency, an employee may be allowed 
to take annual leave or be granted leave without pay in order to attend classes. 

 
19-716.03 REQUIRED COURSES 
 

An agency may require an employee to take a specific course that will help improve the 
employee's performance in the present position or acquire skills necessary to perform 
additional job duties to meet agency needs.  If required, the agency will then pay all costs of 
the course, including tuition, fees, books, and examinations.  An agency shall not pay for 
courses required to attain nor to maintain a professional license unless related to the 
performance of the employee’s job duties.  Attendance at required courses may constitute work 
time. 

 
19-716.04 TUITION ASSISTANCE 
 

A. Agencies may provide tuition assistance to employees based on the guidelines 
recommended by DSHR and approved by the Department of Administration. 

 
B. For exceptions to the Tuition Assistance Guidelines, the agency may submit a proposal to 

the Department of Administration for approval.   
 

1. Each proposal shall include the following information: 
 

a. Program justification based on agency needs; 
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b. Description of the courses; 
 
c. All classes and the number of positions in each class in the requested program; 
 
d. Fiscal year cost estimates for participation in the requested program; and 
 
e. A service commitment and payback agreement. 
 

2. Except as provided above, any other forms of educational assistance for employees or 
non-employees may not be given by agencies unless authorized by statute or by the 
Department of Administration. 

 



State Human Resources Regulations 

95 
 

19-717 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the administration of progressive discipline for covered employees in 
FTE positions. 

 
19-717.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Division of State Human Resources (DSHR) shall develop a progressive discipline 
model policy to assist an agency in its policy development.  The Division of State Human 
Resources must review and approve each agency’s progressive discipline policy. 

 
B. Each agency shall develop a progressive discipline policy and establish procedures that 

will ensure timely and equitable treatment of employees’ behavioral deficiencies and 
breaches of conduct. 

 
C. Each agency's progressive discipline policy should provide for the following types of 

disciplinary actions: 
 

1. Oral Reprimand or equivalent, 
 
2. Written Reprimand or equivalent, 

 
3. Suspension, 

 
4. Termination, 

 
5. Reassignment, 

 
6. Downward Reclassification, 

 
7. Downward Unclassified Title Change, and 

 
8. Demotions. 

 
D. All suspensions shall be without pay. 

  



State Human Resources Regulations 

96 
 

19-718 STATE EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCES AND APPEALS 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation sets forth the procedures for grievances and appeals under the State Employee 
Grievance Procedure Act (the Act), codified at Section 8-17-310 through Section 8-17-370 of 
the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

 
19-718.01 STATEMENTS OF POLICY 
 

A. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop a grievance model policy to assist 
an agency in its policy development.  The Division of State Human Resources must review 
and approve each agency’s grievance policy. 

 
B. Each agency shall develop a grievance policy and establish procedures that will ensure 

timely and equitable treatment for the review of employee grievances. 
 

C. All covered employees as defined in Section 8-17-320 (7) of the South Carolina Code of 
Laws are eligible to initiate a grievance or an appeal as specified in the Act.   The State 
Employee Grievance Procedure Act does not apply to non-covered employees. 

 
D. Teaching and research faculty, professional librarians, academic administrators, and all 

other persons holding faculty appointments at four-year post-secondary educational 
institutions, including any branch campuses, if any, as defined in Section 59-107-10, shall 
not be covered by these Regulations but shall be governed by Section 8-17-380 of the South 
Carolina Code of Laws. 

 
E. No employee shall be disciplined or otherwise prejudiced in employment for exercising 

rights or testifying under the Act. 
 

19-718.02 INTERNAL AGENCY GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES 
 

A. Each notice of an employment action by an agency that may constitute a grievance under 
the Act should be in writing.  A voluntary acceptance of such an action on the part of a 
covered employee should also be in writing.  The notice must advise the covered employee 
of the action taken and, except in cases where the action is voluntary as evidenced by an 
acknowledgment from the covered employee, should advise of the covered employee's 
right to initiate a grievance. 

 
B. Each agency shall establish written internal agency grievance procedures.  All provisions 

shall comply fully with the Act and, as provided for in the Act, be submitted to DSHR for 
approval.  

  
C. Each agency shall ensure that each covered employee is afforded access to a copy of the 

agency’s internal agency grievance procedures. 
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D. Each agency shall maintain documentation pertaining to grievances filed by employees.  
Such information must be made available upon request by DSHR. 

 
E. Failure by the agency to issue a final decision within 45 calendar days is considered an 

adverse decision and allows the covered employee to proceed with an appeal to the State 
Human Resources Director after 45 calendar days, but no later than 55 calendar days from 
the initial date the grievance was filed within the agency. 

 
19-718.03 COVERED EMPLOYEES AND THEIR REPRESENTATIVES 
 

A. “Covered employee” means a full-time or part-time employee occupying a part or all of an 
established full-time equivalent (FTE) position who has completed the probationary period 
and has a “meets” (or equivalent) or higher overall rating on the employee’s performance 
evaluation and who has grievance rights.  Instructional personnel are covered upon the 
completion of one academic year except for faculty at State technical colleges of not more 
than two full academic years’ duration.  If an employee does not receive an evaluation 
before the performance review date, the employee must be considered to have performed 
in a satisfactory manner and be a covered employee.  This definition does not include 
employees in positions such as temporary, temporary grant, time-limited, or research grant 
employees who do not have grievance rights .and employees exempt from the State 
Employee Grievance Procedure Act. 

 
B. Throughout the grievance and appeal process, each covered employee may be represented 

and advised by counsel or other representative or be self-represented as provided by 
Section 8-17-330 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.  If covered employees elect to 
exercise the right of counsel, it shall be at the employee’s expense. 

 
C. The Act exempts certain employees from its provisions as noted in Section 8-17-370 of 

the South Carolina Code of Laws. 
 

19-718.04 GRIEVANCES 
 

A. Grievable adverse actions shall include: 
1. Terminations; 

 
2. Suspensions; 
 
3. Involuntary reassignments in excessive of thirty (30) miles from the prior work station;  

NOTE: The reassignment of an employee by an  agency in excess of thirty (30) miles 
from the prior work station to the nearest facility with an available position having the 
same State salary range for which the employee is qualified is not considered an 
involuntary reassignment. 

 
4. Demotions; 
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5. Punitive reclassifications where the agency, in the case of a grievance, or the State 
Resources Director, in the case of an appeal, determines that there is a material issue 
of fact that the action was solely done to penalize the covered employee.  However, 
reclassifications, reassignments, and transfers within the same state salary range are not 
considered to be grievable or appealable; 
 

6. Promotions, in instances where the agency, or in the case of appeals, the State Human 
Resources Director, determines that there is a material issue of fact as to whether or not 
an agency has considered a qualified covered employee for a position for which the 
employee formally applied or would have applied if the employee had known of the 
promotional opportunity.  When an agency promotes an employee one organizational 
level above the promoted employee’s former level, however, that action is not a 
grievance or appeal for any other covered employee.  Failure to be selected for a 
promotion is not considered an adverse employment action which can be considered 
grievable or appealable; 

 
7. Salary decreases based on performance as the result of an Employee Performance 

Management System (EPMS) evaluation; and 
 

8. Reduction in Force but only if the agency, or as an appeal if the State Human Resources 
Director, determines that there is a material issue of fact that the agency inconsistently 
or improperly applied its reduction in force policy or plan. 

 
B. A covered employee must initiate a grievance in writing internally with the agency within 

14 calendar days of the effective date of the employment action or 14 calendar days from 
when the employee is notified of the action, whichever is later in accordance with the 
agency’s grievance policy. 

 
C. The following are some examples of employment actions that do not constitute a basis for 

a grievance or an appeal: 
 

1. A covered employee who voluntarily resigns or voluntarily accepts a demotion, 
reclassification, transfer, reassignment, or salary decrease shall waive any and all rights 
to file a grievance or an appeal concerning such actions and the covered employee can 
rescind such voluntary actions only if the agency head or the agency head's designee 
agrees; 

 
2. A covered employee whose position is reclassified to a class with a lower salary range 

shall not have the right to file a grievance or an appeal concerning the reclassification 
to the State Human Resources Director unless a determination is made that a material 
issue of fact exists concerning a punitive reclassification;  

 
3. A covered employee who is promoted, reclassified to a higher salary range, or moved 

to an unclassified position with a higher rate of pay and subsequently demoted prior to 
completing the trial period in the class with the higher salary range or higher rate of 
pay shall not have the right to file a grievance or an appeal concerning the demotion, 
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unless such demotion is to a class with a lower salary range or lower rate of pay than 
the position in which the employee was serving prior to promotion, reclassification, or 
movement to an unclassified position with a higher rate of pay. Exception: If the 
employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of the Regulations 
becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period.  (Refer to 
Definitions – Trial Period.) 

 
4. A covered employee who is promoted or moved to an unclassified position with a 

higher rate of pay and subsequently receives a reduction in pay prior to completing the 
trial period in the position with the higher salary range or higher rate of pay shall not 
have the right to file a grievance or an appeal concerning the reduction in pay, unless 
the action results in a lower rate of pay than that which the employee was receiving 
prior to the promotion or movement to an unclassified position with a higher rate of 
pay. Exception: If the employee is not serving a trial period at the time this version of 
the Regulations becomes effective, the covered employee will not serve a trial period.  
(Refer to Definitions – Trial Period.) 

 
19-718.05 APPEALS TO THE STATE HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR 
 

A. If a covered employee is not satisfied with the agency’s final decision concerning his 
grievance, he may appeal, after all administrative remedies to secure relief within the 
agency have been exhausted, to the State Human Resources Director who will determine 
whether to dismiss the appeal or remand or forward the appeal for further action. 

 
B. A covered employee who wishes to appeal the final decision of the agency to the State 

Human Resources Director shall file an appeal within ten calendar days of receipt of the 
decision from the agency head or his designee or within 55 calendar days after the 
employee filed the grievance with the agency, whichever occurs later.  The covered 
employee or the employee’s representative shall file the request in writing with the State 
Human Resources Director.  Failure to file an appeal with the State Human Resources 
Director within ten calendar days of receipt of the agency’s final decision or 55 calendar 
days from the initial grievance, whichever occurs later, constitutes a waiver of the right to 
appeal.  The time periods for an appeal to the State Human Resources Director may not be 
waived. 

 
C. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop standard forms to be used in all 

appeal procedures. 
 
D. Upon receipt of an appeal from a covered employee, the State Human Resources Director 

shall:   
 

1. Acknowledge receipt of the appeal and require that the covered employee submit a 
standard appeal application form; 

 
2. Upon receipt of the standard appeal application form, notify and request that the agency 

furnish the State Human Resources Director a copy of all records, reports, and 
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documentation of the earlier proceedings on the grievance within 15 calendar days 
following the request.  Extensions may be granted in extenuating circumstances; and  

 
3. Determine whether the appeal is timely and complies with the jurisdictional 

requirements of the Act. 
 

E. If the State Human Resources Director determines that the appeal is untimely or fails to 
comply with the requirements of the Act, he will notify the covered employee or his 
representative that the appeal is denied, and no further action will be taken concerning the 
appeal.  As a result of the State Human Resources Director’s decision, the covered 
employee may request reconsideration within 30 calendar days from notification of the 
decision.  A notice of appeal seeking appellate review of the decision may be made by the 
covered employee to the Administrative Law Court as provided in Sections 1-23-380 and 
1-23-600 (D) of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

 
F. If the State Human Resources Director determines that additional action by the agency is 

necessary and appropriate, he may remand the appeal to the agency. 
 
G. If the State Human Resources Director determines that the covered employee has pending 

related criminal charges against him, the appeal process may be held in abeyance pending 
the outcome of those charges at the request of the covered employee or the agency.  If the 
appeal is held in abeyance, the covered employee or his representative must notify DSHR 
within 30 calendar days after the disposition of the charges has been determined in order 
to preserve the covered employee’s right to further pursue his appeal.  Failure to contact 
DSHR within those 30 calendar days will be deemed a waiver and abandonment of the 
appeal.  Evidence of the dismissal, acquittal, or non-prosecution of the related criminal 
charges shall be inadmissible in the employee’s appeal pursuant to applicable law. 

 
H. At the request of the covered employee or the agency, the State Human Resources Director 

may place an appeal in abeyance in extenuating circumstances. 
 
I. If the State Human Resources Director determines that the appeal is timely and complies 

with the requirements of the Act, he will forward the appeal either (1) to the mediator-
arbitrator for mediation-arbitration or (2) after the mediation process has been completed, 
to the designated panel of the State Employee Grievance Committee [Committee] and 
Committee Attorney for a hearing, whichever is appropriate based on the type of adverse 
employment action. 

 
J. When an appeal is forwarded to a designated Committee panel, the State Human Resources 

Director will notify the covered employee or their representative and the agency with a 
statement as to the issues which have been presented by the parties for presentation before 
the Committee for decision. 

 
K. The official record on each appeal and all related correspondence and documents shall be 

maintained in a confidential file by DSHR. 
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L. The State Human Resources Director will send the notices and correspondence pertaining 
to an appeal directly to the parties or their representatives.   

 
19-718.06 MEDIATION PRIOR TO STATE EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE 
HEARINGS 
 

A. “Mediation” means an alternative dispute resolution process whereby a mediator who is an 
impartial third-party acts to encourage and facilitate the resolution of a dispute without 
prescribing what it should be.  The process is informal and nonadversarial with the 
objective of helping the disputing parties reach a mutually acceptable agreement. 

 
B. Once an appeal has been made to the State Human Resources Director and has been 

determined to meet the jurisdictional requirements for an appeal to be forwarded to the 
Committee, the State Human Resources Director shall appoint a mediator to the appeal.  
The following adverse employment actions will be forwarded to the mediator: 
terminations, salary decreases based on performance, demotions, suspensions for more 
than ten days, and reductions in force when the State Human Resources Director 
determines there is a material issue of fact regarding inconsistent or improper application 
of the agency’s reduction in force plan or policy. 

 
C. The mediator: 

 
1. Shall review the documents which have been submitted by each party to the State 

Human Resources Director and schedule time(s) and location(s) to meet with both 
parties, jointly or independently, to attempt to resolve the matter; 

 
2. Has sole authority to determine whether the meeting includes the parties with their 

representatives, jointly or independently; 
 
3. Should determine when the mediation is not viable, that an impasse exists, or that the 

mediation should end. The mediation cannot be unilaterally ended without the 
permission of the mediator; and  

 
4. Should notify each party in writing, as to the status of the mediation process no later 

than ten calendar days prior to the scheduled Committee hearing, when the parties have 
not resolved the matter and a written agreement has not been signed. 

 
D. Mediation Conferences 

 
1. Mediation conferences are confidential and limited to no more than three 

representatives, including legal counsel and the covered employee, for each party.  An 
observer who has been assigned to conduct mediations for DSHR may attend for 
training purposes if both parties to the mediation concur.   

 
2. The parties or their representatives attending a mediation conference must have full 

authority to negotiate and recommend settlement. 
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3. Each covered employee may have representation at the mediation conference and either 

the covered employee or his representative must attend.  If neither the covered 
employee nor his representative attends a conference, the covered employee is deemed 
to have waived his rights to pursue the appeal further unless there is reasonable 
justification for the failure to attend the conference.  The State Human Resources 
Director shall determine whether or not reasonable justification exists based on 
documents submitted by the parties on this issue and based on other information 
available relating to the conference.  Documents submitted by the parties on the issue 
of reasonable justification must be received by DSHR no later than 14 calendar days 
from the date of the scheduled conference.  Denial of reasonable justification by the 
State Human Resources Director concludes the processing of the covered employee’s 
appeal.  

 
4. If the appeal is resolved, the mediator will assist the parties in preparing a written 

agreement to reflect the terms of the resolution and may consult with the attorney for 
DSHR or other DSHR personnel to assist in drafting the agreement. 

 
E. Confidentiality 

 
1. Any discussions by any of the parties concerned during the mediation process shall be 

kept confidential and shall not be used or referred to during subsequent proceedings.   
 
2. The mediator may not be compelled by subpoena or otherwise to divulge records or 

discussions or to testify in regard to the mediation in any adversary proceeding or 
judicial forum. 

 
3. All records, reports, documents, discussions, and other information received by the 

mediator while serving in that capacity are confidential.  
 

4. No pictures, videos, or voice recordings shall be taken during the mediation conference 
except by mutual agreement by both parties and at the discretion of the mediator. 

 
19-718.07 APPEALS FORWARDED TO THE STATE EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCE 
COMMITTEE 
 

A. If a resolution through mediation as required by Section 19-718.06 of the State Human 
Resources Regulations cannot be accomplished, the State Human Resources Director shall 
forward the appeal to the designated panel of the Committee. 

 
B. No more than three representatives, including legal counsel and the covered employee, 

may be designated by either party to be present during Committee hearings. 
 
C. Witnesses 
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1. Notice - After an appeal has been determined to be appealable to the Committee and 
has been placed on the Committee's docket, the covered employee and the agency, or 
their designated representatives, shall exchange witness lists which must be received 
by the other party no later than five calendar days prior to the hearing.  The 
postponement of a hearing does not reinstate any time frame that has already elapsed 
at the time of the request to reschedule.  Witness lists which have not been exchanged 
as required by this provision and witnesses not included on a properly exchanged list 
will be excluded at the hearing unless the Committee finds that there has been 
excusable neglect or that the witness(es) should be admitted in the furtherance of 
justice. 

 
2. Character Witnesses - No more than three character witnesses for each side will be 

permitted to testify before the Committee when evidence of character is relevant to the 
issues.  A character witness is defined as a witness offered solely for the purpose of 
presenting testimony which bears on the positive or negative general character of the 
covered employee, i.e., the covered employee’s reputation for truthfulness, peaceful or 
violent manner, or other considerations of character which have a bearing on the matter 
before the Committee. 

 
3. Subpoenas - Only the Committee Chairman or his designee is authorized to issue 

subpoenas for witnesses at the request of either party.  Either party may request in 
writing the issuance of a subpoena. The request must be received by DSHR no later 
than ten calendar days before the date of the hearing. The postponement of a hearing 
does not reinstate any time frame that has already elapsed at the time of the request to 
reschedule.  The request for a subpoena must include the name of the witness.  The 
service of the subpoena is the responsibility of the requesting party.  When any person 
fails to comply with a subpoena, the requesting party is responsible for the pursuance 
and cost of any judicial enforcement of that subpoena.  Any reasonable expenses 
incurred by a subpoenaed witness shall be paid by the requesting party. 

 
4. Sequestration of Witnesses - Witnesses other than representatives shall be sequestered 

and are prohibited from being in the hearing room whether the appeal is heard in a 
public hearing or heard in executive session.  Exceptions to this prohibition include 
during preliminary comments, the Committee's opening statement, and that witness's 
testimony. 

 
5. Depositions de bene esse - The testimony of a witness may be submitted into evidence 

in the form of a deposition de bene esse when the attendance of the witness whose 
testimony is required cannot be had (a) by reason of (i) extreme age, (ii) sickness or 
infirmity, or (iii) indispensable absence on public official duty, (b) as a result of 
verification of his intended absence from the State before the appeal can be heard by 
the designated Committee panel, or (c) when such witness may be without the limits of 
the State. If the parties cannot agree to the use of a deposition de bene esse, the party 
desiring to submit the deposition de bene esse may request permission from the 
Committee Chairman or his designee and the Committee Attorney to submit the 
deposition de bene esse.  The party opposing the submission will be permitted an 
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opportunity to respond to the request.  The request and the response may be made either 
in writing before or verbally at the hearing.  When the parties agree upon, or a party’s 
request is granted for the use of, a deposition de bene esse, notice must be exchanged 
as to the time of the deposition de bene esse to allow all interested parties to attend and 
participate.  A copy of this notice should be sent to DSHR.  No other types of 
depositions, including discovery depositions, are permitted. 

 
D. Documents 
 

1. Submission to DSHR and Exchange by the Parties - Any records, reports, and 
documentation submitted by either party to be forwarded to the Committee prior to the 
hearing must be received by DSHR no later than 15 calendar days prior to the hearing.  
The postponement of a hearing does not reinstate any time frame that has already 
elapsed at the time of the request to reschedule.  Those documents submitted by both 
parties will be provided by DSHR to committee members prior to the hearings and 
considered to be the record during the hearing and marked into evidence as Committee 
Exhibit I.  Each covered employee granted a hearing before the Committee will receive 
a copy of the records, reports, and documentation submitted by the agency.  In like 
manner, a copy of any records, reports, and documentation filed by a covered employee 
will be sent to the agency. 

 
2. Subpoenas - Only the Committee Chairman or his designee is authorized to issue 

subpoenas for files, records, and documentation on the grievance at the request of either 
party.  Either party may request in writing the issuance of a subpoena. This request 
must be received by DSHR no later than ten calendar days before the date of the 
hearing.  The postponement of a hearing does not reinstate any time frame that has 
already elapsed at the time of the request to reschedule.  The request for a subpoena 
must include a description sufficiently specific to identify the documents in question 
and the name of the custodian of the documents in question.  The service of the 
subpoena is the responsibility of the requesting party.  When any person fails to comply 
with a subpoena, the requesting party is responsible for the pursuance and cost of any 
judicial enforcement of that subpoena.  Any reasonable expenses incurred in the 
production of the documents shall be paid by the requesting party.  Subpoenaed 
documents shall be received by the requesting party no later than five calendar days 
prior to the hearing or by the date indicated by the requesting party.  Motions, by either 
party, to quash a subpoena must be made to the Administrative Law Court. 

 
3. Committee Exhibit I 

 
a. The State Human Resources Director shall arrange for the reproduction of records, 

reports, and documentation timely submitted by both parties and make this 
information available, prior to the date of the hearing, to the designated Committee 
panel and Committee Attorney for that hearing. 

 
b. The documents transmitted by the State Human Resources Director to the 

designated Committee panel and Committee Attorney must be marked into 
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evidence as "Committee Exhibit I" during the Committee Chairman's opening 
statement at the beginning of the hearing unless excluded by the Committee 
Attorney based on a prior objection raised by either party. 

 
E. Panel Hearings 
 

1. Scheduling and Notice - The State Human Resources Director shall establish a date, 
time, and place for the hearing of each appeal and provide reasonable notice to the 
covered employee, agency, designated Committee panel, and Committee Attorney.   

 
2. Continuances and Postponements - Prior to the commencement of the hearing, the 

State Human Resources Director has the authority to grant a postponement based 
upon extenuating circumstances. 

 
3. Executive Session Hearings - All hearings before the State Employee Grievance 

Committee shall be in executive session unless the employee requests a public hearing 
in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act prior to the designated Committee 
panel voting to go into executive session. If the hearing is held in executive session, 
only the designated Committee panel, the parties involved in a hearing, the Committee 
Attorney, and persons approved by the designated Committee Chairman may attend.  

 
4. Committee Members 

 
a. The Committee shall consist of at least 18 and not more than 24 members who must 

be appointed by the Director of the Department of Administration in accordance 
with the Act. 

 
b. The State Human Resources Director may divide the Committee into panels of five 

members to sit at hearings and designate a member to serve as the presiding officer 
and a member to serve as secretary at all panel hearings. 

 
c. A chairman shall be elected from the membership of the Committee each year after 

approval of membership of new members by the Director of the Department of 
Administration.  A meeting for election of a chairman shall be held as soon as 
practicable after appointments are made. 

 
d. A quorum of a panel shall consist of at least three Committee members.  No 

hearings may be conducted without a quorum. 
 
e. Whenever an appeal before the Committee is initiated by or involves an employee 

of an agency of which a Committee member also is an employee or involves 
another impermissible conflict of interest, the Committee member is disqualified 
from participating in the hearing.   

 
5. Committee Attorney 
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a. The Department of Administration is authorized to request assignment by the 
Attorney General of one or more of his staff attorneys admitted to practice law in 
South Carolina to serve in the capacity of Committee Attorney.  If the Attorney 
General is not able to provide sufficient legal staff for this purpose due to an 
impermissible conflict of interest, the Department of Administration, with the 
approval of the Attorney General, is authorized to secure other qualified attorneys 
to serve as Committee Attorney. 

 
b. The Committee Attorney shall determine the order and relevance of the testimony 

and the appearance of witnesses, and shall rule on all motions and all legal issues. 
 

6. Attendance by the Parties 
 

a. Panel hearings will be conducted on the date and at the time scheduled unless the 
Committee, acting collectively or through its designated Committee Chairman, 
upon commencement of a hearing, grants a postponement based upon extenuating 
circumstances. 

 
b. Each covered employee may have representation at the panel hearing and either the 

covered employee or his representative must attend.  If neither the covered 
employee nor his representative attends the panel hearing, the covered employee is 
deemed to have waived his rights to pursue the appeal further unless there is 
reasonable justification for the failure to attend the panel hearing.  The State Human 
Resources Director shall determine whether or not reasonable justification exists 
based on documents submitted by the party on this issue and based on other 
information available relating to the panel hearing.  Documents submitted by the 
party on the issue of reasonable justification must be received by DSHR no later 
than 14 calendar days from the date of the scheduled panel hearing.  Denial of 
reasonable justification by the State Human Resources Director concludes the 
processing of the covered employee’s appeal. 

 
c. If the agency fails to appear at the panel hearing without reasonable justification, 

the designated Committee panel will base its decision on a review of Committee 
Exhibit I and a presentation of the case by the covered employee. 

 
7. Administrative Assistance and Recordings of Hearings 
 

a. The State Human Resources Director shall provide to the Committee from the 
resources of DSHR such administrative and clerical services as may be required. 

 
b. All proceedings before the Committee shall be recorded by DSHR.  The recording 

shall be preserved by DSHR.  
 

8. Submission of Witness and Representative Lists to Committee - At the beginning of 
the hearing, each party shall provide to the secretary of the designated Committee panel 
a list of representatives and witnesses.  Representatives who will testify must be listed 
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as both a representative and a witness.  Witness lists which have not been exchanged 
as required by Section 19-718.07 C. 1. of the State Human Resources Regulations and 
witnesses not included on a properly exchanged list will be excluded at the hearing 
unless the Committee finds that there has been excusable neglect or that the witness(es) 
should be admitted in the furtherance of justice. 

 
9. Conduct of Hearings - The presiding Committee Chairman shall conduct the grievance 

hearing in an equitable, orderly, and expeditious fashion.  The Committee will give 
effect to rules of privilege recognized by law.  The parties shall be bound by the 
decisions of the presiding officer or Committee Attorney insofar as such hearings are 
concerned. 

 
10. Opening Statements and Order of Presentation of the Case 
 

a. The designated Committee Chairman shall open the hearing by explaining the 
procedures to be followed in the hearing. 

 
b. Each party shall be given an opportunity to make an opening statement.  
 
c. The covered employee shall present his case first, followed by the agency.  
 

11. Direct and Cross Examinations 
 

a. The testimony of witnesses shall be under oath or affirmation. 
 
b. Each party shall have the right to examine and cross-examine witnesses, as 

appropriate. 
 
c. The designated Committee Chairman, the Committee Attorney, or any member of 

the designated Committee panel may direct questions to any party or witness at any 
time during the proceedings. 

 
d. Each party may object to testimony, questions, or documents.  
 

12. Evidentiary Matters - Evidentiary matters as governed by the South Carolina 
Administrative Procedures Act will apply in hearings before the Committee. 

 
13. Interpretations from DSHR - The designated Committee Chairman of a designated 

Committee panel may request information or assistance in interpretations of rules and 
Regulations from the State Human Resources Director. 

 
14. Closing Statement 

 
a. Before closing the hearing, the designated Committee Chairman shall allow the 

parties to make a closing statement.   
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b. The covered employee will have the option of closing first or last.  
 

F. Committee Deliberations and Written Committee Decisions 
 

1. The designated Committee panel shall retire into executive session, without the parties 
present, to receive legal advice from the Committee Attorney and consider the 
evidence.  The Committee Attorney may be present during the Committee's 
deliberations on its decision only upon the request of the designated Committee 
Chairman.  No vote by the designated Committee panel may be taken in executive 
session except to come out of executive session. 

 
2. Each member of the designated Committee panel shall vote on the merits of the appeal 

and the vote will be recorded. 
 
3. Decisions of the Committee shall be determined by a simple majority of those members 

who heard the appeal. 
 
4. Within 20 calendar days of the conclusion of the hearing, the designated Committee 

panel shall make its final written decision. 
 
5. The final decision of the Committee as it relates to an appeal shall include the (1) 

findings of fact, (2) statements of policy and conclusions of law, and (3) the 
Committee's decision. 

 
6. As governed by the provisions of the Act, the Committee may sustain, reject, or modify 

a grievance hearing decision of an agency. 
 
7. Any member agreeing with the majority decision but differing with the rationale may 

prepare a concurring decision.  Any member voting in the minority may prepare a 
dissenting opinion. 

 
8. The Committee Attorney or the attorney for DSHR or both may assist the Committee 

in the preparation of its findings of fact, statements of policy, and conclusions of law. 
 
9. The decision of the Committee shall be transmitted to the State Human Resources 

Director for notification to the covered employee and the agency or their 
representatives. 

 
10. As a result of this final written decision, either the covered employee or the agency 

may request reconsideration within 30 calendar days from receipt of the decision. 
 
11. The designated Committee panel shall request assistance from the Committee Attorney 

or the attorney for DSHR or both in the preparation of a written response to a request 
for reconsideration. 
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12. If no request for reconsideration is made or when a response is made to a request for 
reconsideration, the Committee decision is final in terms of administrative review. 

 
19-718.08 APPEALS FORWARDED TO A MEDIATOR-ARBITRATOR 
 

A. “Mediation-arbitration” means an alternative dispute resolution process that provides for 
the submission of an appeal to the mediator-arbitrator, an impartial third party who 
conducts conferences to attempt to resolve the grievance by mediation and render a 
decision that is final and binding on the parties if the appeal is not mediated. 

 
B. The State Human Resources Director shall forward to a mediator-arbitrator all appeals 

which meet jurisdictional requirements and relate to the appeal of the following adverse 
employment actions:  lack of promotional consideration and punitive reclassifications 
when the State Human Resources Director determines there is a material issue of fact 
regarding these issues, suspensions for ten days or fewer, and involuntary reassignments.  
In these cases, the arbitration decision is final in terms of administrative review.  The 
provisions of the S.C. Administrative Procedures Act do not apply in the mediation-
arbitration proceedings. 

 
C. Selection and Assignment of the Mediator-Arbitrator 
 

1. The mediator-arbitrator must be assigned by the State Human Resources Director and 
shall serve as an impartial third party to hold conferences to encourage and facilitate 
the resolution of the appeal and, if the appeal is not resolved, issue a decision which 
determines whether the covered employee substantiated that the agency’s decision was 
not reasonable. 

 
2. The State Human Resources Director shall maintain a pool of qualified mediator-

arbitrators trained by DSHR in alternative dispute resolution, grievance, and related 
human resources issues. 

 
3. The State Human Resources Director shall have the discretion to assign either two 

mediator-arbitrators, one to serve as mediator during the mediation phase and one to 
serve as arbitrator during the arbitration phase, or one mediator-arbitrator to serve as 
both mediator and arbitrator. 

 
D. Mediation-Arbitration Conferences 
 

1. The mediator-arbitrator shall review the documents which have been submitted by each 
party to the State Human Resources Director and shall schedule time(s) and location(s) 
to meet with both parties, jointly or independently. 

 
2. No more than three representatives, including legal counsel and the covered employee, 

may be designated by either party to be present during mediation-arbitration 
conferences.  An observer who has been assigned to conduct mediation-arbitrations for 
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DSHR may attend for training purposes if both parties to the mediation-arbitration 
conference concur. 

 
3. Each covered employee is entitled to representation at the conference and either the 

covered employee or his representative must attend.  If neither the covered employee 
nor his representative attend a conference, the covered employee is deemed to have 
waived his rights to pursue the appeal further unless there is reasonable justification for 
the failure to attend the conference.  The State Human Resources Director shall 
determine whether or not reasonable justification exists based on documents submitted 
by the parties on this issue and based on other information available relating to the 
conference.  Documents submitted by the parties on the issue of reasonable justification 
must be received by DSHR no later than 14 calendar days from the date of the 
scheduled conference.  Denial of reasonable justification by the State Human 
Resources Director concludes the processing of the covered employee’s appeal. 

 
4. If the agency fails to appear at a conference without reasonable justification, the 

mediator-arbitrator will base an arbitration decision on a review of the documents 
which have been submitted by each party to the State Human Resources Director and 
a presentation of the case by the covered employee. 

 
5. The parties or their representatives attending a conference must have full authority to 

negotiate and recommend settlement. 
 

E. Mediation Phase 
 

1. The mediator-arbitrator has sole authority to determine whether conferences during the 
mediation phase include the parties with their representatives, jointly or independently. 

 
2. Initially, the mediator-arbitrator will attempt to assist the parties as a mediator in 

reaching a voluntary mutual resolution of the appeal. 
 
3. The mediation phase cannot be unilaterally ended nor the arbitration phase begun 

without the permission of the mediator-arbitrator. 
 
4. If the dispute is resolved, the mediator-arbitrator will assist the parties in preparing a 

written agreement to reflect the terms of the resolution and may consult with the 
attorney for DSHR or other DSHR personnel to assist in drafting the agreement. 

 
F. Arbitration Phase 
 

1. If the mediator-arbitrator determines that the parties are unable to reach a resolution of 
the appeal by mediation during, but no later than, the 20 calendar days immediately 
following the initial conference with either or both parties, then the mediator-arbitrator 
shall notify the parties that the arbitration phase will proceed, as appropriate. 

 
2. Procedures for Arbitration Phase 
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a. During the arbitration phase, the parties will be allowed to submit to the mediator-

arbitrator a concise written summary of the relevant issues involved in the appeal, 
statements, and other additional documents or information.  The parties must have 
provided the other party and the mediator-arbitrator with the written summary of 
relevant issues, any statements from individuals who have knowledge about the 
issues on appeal, and other related documents or information concerning the appeal 
prior to the arbitration conference.  The time for the exchange by the parties and 
submission to the mediator-arbitrator of the written summary of relevant issues, 
statements, and other related documents or information will be determined by the 
mediator-arbitrator. 

 
b. During the arbitration phase, the mediator-arbitrator will allow each party a 

maximum of two hours to present his appeal, with the covered employee presenting 
his case first.  Either the party or one of his representatives shall be designated as 
the spokesperson during the conference.  No testimony will be allowed and others 
in attendance will not be allowed to speak or ask questions during the presentation 
of information.  The parties may use the designated time to present any oral 
arguments concerning the issues on appeal.  The covered employee may reserve a 
portion of the two hours to reply to the agency’s contentions.  This reply is limited 
only to information presented orally by the agency and shall not exceed one-half of 
the total time for the presentation of information.  In extenuating circumstances, the 
mediator-arbitrator may increase or decrease the time each party has to present his 
appeal at the conference during the arbitration phase.   

 
c. The other party and his representatives may be present when a party presents his 

appeal during the arbitration phase. 
 
d. Conformity to legal rules of evidence shall not be necessary during the arbitration 

phase. 
 
e. At any time before the mediator-arbitrator makes a final arbitration decision, the 

mediation phase may be reopened at his initiative, or at his discretion upon request 
of a party.   

 
f. The mediator-arbitrator shall transmit to both parties a final written decision based 

on all documents properly submitted by both parties and the oral arguments 
presented during the arbitration phase within 45 calendar days after the mediator-
arbitrator initially meets with either or both parties.  This 45-day period may be 
extended by the State Human Resources Director under extenuating circumstances.  
When the expiration of this 45-day period occurs during the seven day waiting 
period required under the Older Workers Benefit Protection Act before a written 
agreement becomes effective, the State Human Resources Director will extend the 
45-day period one day for each day remaining in the seven day waiting period.  
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g. As a result of this final written decision, either the covered employee or the agency 
may request reconsideration by the mediator-arbitrator within 30 calendar days 
from receipt of the decision. 

 
h. The mediator-arbitrator may request assistance from the attorney for DSHR or 

DSHR staff in the preparation of his final written decision and his written response 
to a request for reconsideration. 

 
G. Confidentiality 

 
1. The conferences with the parties are confidential and limited to the parties and their 

representatives, but other persons may attend with the permission of the parties and the 
mediator-arbitrator. 

 
2. The mediator-arbitrator may not be compelled by subpoena or otherwise to divulge any 

records or discussions or to testify in regard to the mediation-arbitration in any 
adversary proceeding or judicial forum. 

 
3. All records, reports, documents, discussions, and other information received by the 

mediator-arbitrator while serving in that capacity are confidential, except the 
documents which have been submitted by each party shall be the record during 
appellate review to the Administrative Law Court. 

 
4. No pictures, videos, or voice recordings, shall be taken during the mediation or 

arbitration conference except by mutual agreement by both parties and at the discretion 
of the mediator or the arbitrator. 

 
19-718.09 APPELLATE REVIEW OF ANY FINAL DECISION 
 

Either party may seek appellate review to the Administrative Law Court from a final decision 
by the State Human Resources Director denying an appeal or by the State Employee Grievance 
Committee or mediator-arbitrator. 
 
A. A notice of appeal seeking appellate review to the Administrative Law Court must be 

initiated within 30 calendar days from receipt of the decision. 
 
B. A notice of appeal seeking appellate review of the final decision may be made by the 

covered employee to the Administrative Law Court as provided in Sections 1-23-380 and 
1-23-600 (D) of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

 
C. Only after an agency submits a written request to DSHR seeking approval of the 

Department of Administration may the agency file a notice of appeal seeking appellate 
review to the Administrative Law Court.  However, the agency may perfect the appeal only 
upon approval of the Director of the Department of Administration.  
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D. The covered employee or the agency who first files the notice of appeal seeking appellate 
review of a State Employee Grievance Committee decision is responsible for preparation 
of a transcript and paying the costs of preparation of a transcript of the hearing required for 
certification of the record to the Administrative Law Court. 

 
E. The record for appellate review of a decision made by a mediator-arbitrator shall be limited 

to the documents and information which have been submitted by each party and the final 
written decision of the mediator-arbitrator. 

 
F. The record for appellate review of a decision made by the State Human Resources Director 

shall be limited to the documents and information which have been submitted by each party 
and the final written decision of the State Human Resources Director. 

 
G. The covered employee or the agency who first files the notice of appeal seeking appellate 

review of a final decision by (1) the State Human Resources Director denying an appeal; 
(2) the State Employee Grievance Committee; or (3) a mediator-arbitrator, is responsible 
for preparation of a transcript and paying the costs of preparation of a transcript of the 
hearing required for certification of the record to the Administrative Law Court.  In 
addition, the appealing party is responsible for all costs associated with providing the 
record on appeal to the Administrative Law Court. 

 
H. Neither the Department of Administration nor DSHR nor the State Human Resources 

Director nor the Committee nor the mediator-arbitrator may be named in the notice of 
appeal to the Administrative Law Court.  However, any of these entities are entitled to 
make a motion in the Administrative Law Court to be allowed to intervene to participate 
in the appeal for appropriate reasons including their interest in defending their policies. 

 
19-718.10 REINSTATEMENT OF LEAVE 
 

 An employee who involuntary separates from State service and whose employment is 
reinstated through the agency’s internal grievance procedure, mediation agreement or by the 
State Employee Grievance Committee shall have his sick leave restored and shall be given the 
option of buying back all, some or none of his annual leave at the rate at which it was paid out. 
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19-719 COMPUTATION OF BACK PAY AND APPROVAL OF 
PERSONNEL SETTLEMENTS 
 
 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

  
 This Regulation sets forth the procedures for computing back pay and approval of personnel 

settlements.  
 
19-719.01 COMPUTATION OF BACK PAY 
 

A. Reinstatement of pay resulting from a reversed disciplinary action or suspension pending 
investigation of an employee shall be less any other related income received, such as 
unemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, State retirement benefits (only 
when the employee retires after the disciplinary action occurs and when the income is the 
result of a termination), and wages earned, for the period of time in which the pay was 
deducted. Employee retirement contributions and related interest withdrawn by the 
employee are not considered other related income. Reinstatement of pay shall be 
accomplished in the following manner: 

 
1. The employee shall submit to the agency a Statement of Earnings and Unemployment 

Compensation form indicating any wages including unemployment compensation, 
earned during the interim period of disciplinary action; 

 
2. The agency shall submit a written request for the employee’s reinstatement of pay and 

a statement of back pay due, less any other related income, such as unemployment 
compensation, workers’ compensation, State retirement benefits, and wages, to the 
State Human Resources Director; 

 
3. Any unemployment compensation earned by the employee will be verified by DSHR 

through the Department of Employment and Workforce.  The amount of 
unemployment compensation provided by the Department of Employment and 
Workforce will be used in determining the final back pay amount; 

 
4. The computation of back pay must be in accordance with guidelines provided by the 

Office of the Comptroller General for agencies whose payroll is issued by the 
Comptroller General.  For all other agencies, computation of back pay must be in 
accordance with applicable agency policies and procedures; and 

 
5. The State Human Resources Director must approve the amount of reinstatement pay 

due the employee.  That approval is not subject to administrative appeal and will 
constitute the final administrative decision. 

 
B. The above procedure shall be followed in all reversed disciplinary actions and back pay 

associated with a suspension pending investigation.  
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C. The intent of this Regulation is only to make the employee whole as if the disciplinary 

action had not occurred. 
 

19-719.02 APPROVAL OF PERSONNEL SETTLEMENT 
 

A. It is the policy of the State Fiscal Accountability Authority that personnel settlement 
proposals which include monetary statements for both covered and non-covered employees 
be presented to the State Fiscal Accountability Authority for approval as outlined in the 
following: 
 
1. In all situations where a personnel settlement has not been negotiated or approved by 

the Office of the Attorney General under a plan approved by the Office of the Attorney 
General; 

 
2. In all human resource-related matters, after review and recommendation by the State 

Human Resources Director, excluding settlements which have been negotiated and 
approved by the Workers’ Compensation Commission, Department of Employment 
and Workforce, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, or South Carolina 
Human Affairs Commission; and 

 
3. In all other situations where specific approval of the State Fiscal Accountability 

Authority would be necessary to disburse agency funds mentioned under the settlement 
proposal.  Exception: Personnel Settlements containing lump sum amounts where 
payment would be supplied by the Insurance Reserve Fund or an agency’s Foundation 
Fund. 

 
a. All personnel settlement proposals shall contain such information as the State 

Fiscal Accountability Authority or its designee specifies. 
 

b. The State Human Resources Director may review and approve any personnel 
settlement of $10,000 or less. 

 
B. Personnel settlements which do not contain a monetary payment, or when the monetary 

payment is made from a source other than agency funds, require approval from the State 
Human Resources Director.  
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19-720 SEPARATION FROM STATE SERVICE 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 

This Regulation governs how the State government employment relationship may end. 
 
19-720.01 CONTINUOUS STATE SERVICE AND BREAK IN SERVICE 
 

A. Continuous State Service 
 
 Continuous State service is service with one or more agencies without a break in service. 

 
B. Break in Service 
 

An employee experiences a break in service when the employee: 
 

1. Separates from State employment. 
 

Exception - When an employee moves from a position in which the employee earns 
both annual and sick leave to a position in which the employee only earns sick leave.  
All earned sick leave shall be transferred in accordance with Section 19-710.05 A. 

 
2. Moves from one State agency to another and is not employed with the receiving agency 

within 15 calendar days following the last day worked (or approved day of leave) at 
the transferring agency. 

 
Exception - Under extenuating circumstances an agency head may approve an 
extension from 15 calendar days up to but not in excess of six months for an employee 
in a full-time equivalent (FTE) position to be employed in another FTE position within 
State government without having a break in service.  The approval must be made prior 
to the employee receiving a lump sum payment for unused annual leave and within 15 
days of the last day the employee is in pay status. 

 
3. Remains on leave for a period of more than 12 months. 

 
Exceptions 
 
a. The employee is on a military tour of duty with reemployment rights protected 

under federal or State law. 
 
b. The employee is participating in the Government Employees Interchange Program 

as provided in Section 19-714. 
 

c. The employee is an academic personnel at an institution of higher learning on 
sabbatical leave. 

 



State Human Resources Regulations 

117 
 

4. Separates from State service as a result of a reduction in force and is not recalled to the 
original position or reinstated with State government within 12 months of the effective 
date of the separation. 

 
5. Moves from an FTE position to a temporary, temporary grant, or time-limited position.   

 
19-720.02 RESIGNATION 

 
A. An employee may resign orally or in writing.  Such notification of resignation should be 

accepted by the agency in the same manner as provided, whether written or oral, and an 
oral acceptance of a resignation should be generally confirmed in writing.  Once an 
employee’s resignation is accepted, it may not be withdrawn, cancelled, or amended 
without consent of the agency head or his designee. 

 
B. Resignations should be given to provide a minimum of two weeks notice. 

  
 
19-720.03 TERMINATION 
 

For purposes of the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act, termination is the action taken 
by an agency against an employee to separate the employee involuntarily from employment. 

 
19-720.04 REDUCTION IN FORCE 

 
A. Statements of Policy 

 
1. The Division of State Human Resources shall develop a reduction in force model policy 

to assist an agency in its policy development.  The Division of State Human Resources 
must review and approve each agency’s reduction in force policy. 

 
2. Each agency shall develop a reduction in force policy.   
 

Exception: 
 
This requirement shall not apply to academic personnel at a four-year post-secondary 
educational institutions as defined in Section 59-107-10 of the South Carolina Code of 
Laws.  However, each institution shall develop a policy outlining the criteria for a 
reduction in force for these employees. 

 
3. Technical colleges are required to have a reduction in force policy. 

 
4. Employees on authorized leave are eligible to compete in a reduction in force as if they 

are not on leave. 
 

5. When a covered employee is assigned lower level responsibilities or demoted as a result 
of a reduction in force implemented due to loss of funding, the employee’s salary may 
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be reduced on the effective date of the reduction in force.  The agency head or his 
designee, at his discretion, may reduce the employee’s salary to a salary either between 
0%-15% below the employee’s current salary or between the employee’s current salary 
and the midpoint of the lower pay band.  In exercising this discretion, the agency head 
or his designee may use the option which results in the greatest cost savings. 

(Note: Regulation 19-720.04 A. 5. only applies to decreases in salary as a result of a 
reduction in force implemented due to loss of funding and is an exception to salary 
decreases when a covered employee is assigned lower-level responsibilities or demoted 
as listed in Sections 19-705 and 19-706.) 

B. Reduction in Force Plan 
 
1. Each agency shall submit a reduction in force plan to DSHR for review and approval 

for procedural correctness prior to its implementation. 
 

2. A reduction in force plan must include: 
 
a. A reason for the reduction in force as defined by the agency.  These circumstances 

shall be either agency reorganization, work shortage, loss of funding, or 
outsourcing/privatization.  If the reason for the reduction in force is due to a loss of 
funding, DSHR will forward a copy of the plan to the Executive Budget Office for 
concurrence on the budgetary issue prior to final approval. 

 
b. The competitive area(s) in which the reduction in force will apply.  Competitive 

area(s) shall be determined by the agency according to critical needs.  Any covered 
employee affected by a reduction in force shall have bumping rights within a 
competitive area(s). 
 

c. The competitive group(s) within the competitive area(s) as defined by the agency 
including any employees in specified competitive area(s). 
 

d. The proposed list of employees to be affected by the reduction in force which 
includes: 

 
(1) The age, race, and sex of all employees in the competitive group(s); and 
 
(2) A preliminary list of employees in each group in retention point order. 

 
e. The efforts that will be made to assist employees affected by a reduction in force to 

find other employment, including notice to DSHR. 
 

f. A current organizational chart showing the competitive area(s) and competitive 
group(s). 

 
g. Justification of the use of any retention of necessary qualifications as provided in 
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the agency’s reduction in force policy. 
 

3. Implementation 
 

After a reduction in force plan is reviewed and approved by DSHR for procedural 
correctness and before it becomes effective, an agency representative shall inform 
affected employees of the following: 

 
a. The reason for the reduction in force; 
 
b. The competitive area(s) and competitive group(s); 

 
c. The effects of the reduction in force upon State benefits; 

 
d. The assistance offered by DSHR;  

 
e. The employee’s recall rights; and 

 
f. The method of notification should a job become available. 

 
4. Reduction in Force Rights 
 

a. Any covered employee affected by a reduction in force shall retain covered status 
and recall rights for a period of one year from the date of separation. 

 
b. Employees who are affected by the reduction in force shall be recalled in inverse 

order based on retention points should a position become available within the 
competitive area. 

 
c. A covered employee who is separated due to a reduction in force shall retain 

continuous service if the employee is reinstated within one year from the date of 
separation. 

 
d. An employee who is separated by an agency by a reduction in force and is 

subsequently reinstated within one year shall have his sick leave restored and shall 
be given the option of buying back all, some, or none of his annual leave at the rate 
at which it was paid out. 

 
5. Grievance Rights 

 
A covered employee who is affected by a reduction in force may grieve or appeal the 
reduction in force under the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act if the appeal is 
based on inconsistent or improper application of a reduction in force policy or plan. 

 
19-720.05 EXIT INTERVIEWS 
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A. Each agency should establish a procedure for obtaining separation information from each 
employee who voluntarily separates from State service. This procedure should include an 
exit interview to reflect the specific reasons for the employee's separation.  A reasonable 
effort should be made to interview the employee to obtain the information. 

 
B. Each agency should maintain and summarize a general file on all exit interviews for review 

by management. 
 

19-720.06 ANNUAL AND SICK LEAVE UPON SEPARATION 
 
A. Section 19-709.05 explains the applicable annual leave provisions when an employee 

separates from State service. 
 
B. Section 19-710.06 explains the applicable sick leave provisions when an employee 

separates from State service. 
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19-721 RECORDKEEPING 
 

SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
 
This Regulation governs the recordkeeping requirements for human resources programs. 
 

19-721.01 STATEMENT OF POLICY 
 
Each agency shall establish and maintain all records required by State law or DSHR 
concerning human resources programs. 

 
19-721.02 EMPLOYEE RECORDS 
 

A. Each agency shall establish and maintain an official human resources file for each 
employee which shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, the following: 

 
1. Employment application; 
 
2. All human resources actions reflecting the employee’s work history with the agency; 
 
3. Documentation directly related to the employee’s work record;  
 
4. All performance evaluations; and 
 
5. Information for nonexempt employees as required by the US Department of Labor. 
 

B. An employee’s official human resources file shall be available for the employee’s review 
upon request. 

 
19-721.03 RECORDS RELEASE 
 

A. In response to requests for information from human resources records, agencies may 
provide, pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, an employee’s name, date of 
employment, title, sex, and race.  The determination to disclose other types of information 
should be made on a case-by-case basis.  Requests for salary information should be 
answered in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.  (Refer to Section 19-
703.05.) 
 

B. In responding to requests for information concerning current or former employees by 
prospective employers under Section 41-1-65 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 
agencies may provide information as follows: 

 
1. Agencies responding to oral requests for information may disclose an employee's or 

former employee's dates of employment, pay level, and wage history. 
 

2. Agencies responding to written requests may disclose the following information to 
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which an employee or former employee may have access: 
 

a. Written employee evaluations; 
 
b. Official human resources notices that formally record the reasons for separation; 
 
c. Whether the employee was voluntarily or involuntarily released from service and 

the reason for the separation; and 
 
d. Information about job performance. 

 
3. Agencies shall not knowingly or recklessly release or disclose false information. 

 
4. Responses to requests under Section 41-1-65 of the South Carolina Code of Laws 

should be considered in conjunction with the Freedom of Information Act. 
  


